We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$ 105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ye Old Ferrie Inn(Symonds Yat)
US$ 126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 76
US$ 56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The King's Head Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
US$ 107
US$ 104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bridge House(Ross-on-Wye)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
151
48
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
48
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown centrebreakfast cooked to ordergreat locationcooking breakfastensuite rooma couple of minutes walkfurther afieldwye valleya great nights sleepgood sizelocal areaenjoyable staysurrounding areashort stayold houseeasy accesstwo night stay
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Linden guest house is a perfect get away. Gorgeous boutique rooms. Amazing freshly cooked breakfasts. Patrick is genuinely welcoming and makes the stay personal from start to finish. We were given fabulous tips on places to see whilst on our visit. The location of the guest house is right in the town. Beautiful from the outside with flowers. Inside is well decorated. We didn't want to leave.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lward_527822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare O, Owner at Linden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Thanks for your lovely review Iward - and taking the time to write it! We try very hard to ensure our guests are relaxed, comfortable and have everything they need including information! Come and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Our host Mr [--] - although no obvious Irish accent - certainly has the gift of the gab. Interesting tales yes. What was a bit disconcerting was that he was out walking the dog when we arrived at 5.30pm (although he had contacted and emailed the key code the morning of arrival day) and told us he would be leaving before we did in the morning by 8.30. In fact he was still there talking to us and pedestrians passing by at 9.00. The impression I gained is that he was running this operation as a hobby rather than a business. The failing shower cubicle which needs permanent repair in our room is an example of something that has not been properly fixed and will fail when the next customer takes a shower.

Whilst he was nothing if not friendly I am afraid "Frambled Egg" is not really a proper breakfast option to offer guests. We asked for scrambled eggs which is not an unreasonable request at a B & B. He could not provide. Reason is all he has to cook on in the guest galley kitchen is a hot plate for frying - no hobs for saucepans. This is inadequate and another example of how he appears to be running things as a casual operation. He should have said he would cook in his own kitchen rather than provide some half-baked alternative.

One other thing to be aware of. When booking he took the whole charge for the room not just a deposit and the receipt indicated that this is not refundable at all if cancelled even with resasonable notice. I am not sure if this legal but it is actually not a way to get off to a good start with a potential customer.

All in all what was delivered was less than I expected from the picture of the building which does have a fine facade and is ideally situated close to the town centre.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nick f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare O, Owner at Linden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience Nick F - we are sorry you felt it was a bit too casual! We work very hard to to make every guest's experience relaxed, comfortable and personal but clearly didn't achieve it this time. Having owned and operated our guest house for 30+ years as the main income whilst bringing up our (now adult) children, we are sad you felt it was a hobby - it has been anything but to us! We hope to do better with our guests and value your feedback to help us to do better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Small and friendly and a great location - about 100 yards from town center. Room comfortable and breakfast cooked to order. Nice part of the country and within easy reach of Symonds Yat and Hay on Wye, and watch the Severn Bore at Minsterworth. Thanks Patrick for a great weekend.

Room Tip: Room 3 overlooks churchyard
Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare O, Owner at Linden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thanks for writing a review Robert - and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are very lucky with our location - quiet yet central to Ross and also some great visits in the area. Hope tp see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Exellent location for visiting and eating in Ross as well as looking around the Wye Valley. Our host, Patrick, was extremely helpful, informative and welcoming. Great breakfast prepared to your own requirements.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank acheet_120029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare O, Owner at Linden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. As breakfast is the only meal we serve (loads of choice for other meals all within 2 mins walk), it's really important you should enjoy it! Hope to see you again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

It is a lovely charming period guest house. Host is entertaining and very suited to the role, has some interesting tales.
Room 2 was lovely and quirky. Shower head could do with replacement and bed was firm.
Breakfast is a cosy affair, only small breakfast room, breakfast cooked to order by the host. Access code to guest house sent by email, so easy access.
Can thoroughly recommend eating at No 3, in town, but book well in advance.

Room Tip: Room 2, overlooks the church and graveyard, very picturesque
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare O, Owner at Linden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write Ian - we'll take care of that shower head! There are some lovely places to eat all within walking distance - No 3 being one of the most popular at the moment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews