We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay”
Review of Linden Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Linden Guest House
Ranked #8 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Came to Herefordshire for a wedding and stayed in this guest house in Ross on Wye. What can I say, I had a wonderful time due greatly to this property and the host. A wonderful man Patrick made our stay feel like home. We felt welcomed as soon as we set foot inside the door and we're sad to leave. Very efficient we had a call and email before we travelled over. This meant we knew how to get in and we were able to check in early due to our traveling time. I would advise anyone travelling to Ross on Wye to stay here.

Room Tip: Staying in the apartment was better than just a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizajanemcdermott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare O, Owner at Linden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thanks for your review Emma Jane - you know it works both ways! When we have cheerful guests who are having a great time it makes our (Well, Patrick's!) job so much easier. Glad you had a brilliant time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2017

Linden guest house is a perfect get away. Gorgeous boutique rooms. Amazing freshly cooked breakfasts. Patrick is genuinely welcoming and makes the stay personal from start to finish. We were given fabulous tips on places to see whilst on our visit. The location of the guest house is right in the town. Beautiful from the outside with flowers. Inside is well decorated. We didn't want to leave.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lward_527822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare O, Owner at Linden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Thanks for your lovely review Iward - and taking the time to write it! We try very hard to ensure our guests are relaxed, comfortable and have everything they need including information! Come and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Our host Mr [--] - although no obvious Irish accent - certainly has the gift of the gab. Interesting tales yes. What was a bit disconcerting was that he was out walking the dog when we arrived at 5.30pm (although he had contacted and emailed the key code the morning of arrival day) and told us he would be leaving before we did in the morning by 8.30. In fact he was still there talking to us and pedestrians passing by at 9.00. The impression I gained is that he was running this operation as a hobby rather than a business. The failing shower cubicle which needs permanent repair in our room is an example of something that has not been properly fixed and will fail when the next customer takes a shower.

Whilst he was nothing if not friendly I am afraid "Frambled Egg" is not really a proper breakfast option to offer guests. We asked for scrambled eggs which is not an unreasonable request at a B & B. He could not provide. Reason is all he has to cook on in the guest galley kitchen is a hot plate for frying - no hobs for saucepans. This is inadequate and another example of how he appears to be running things as a casual operation. He should have said he would cook in his own kitchen rather than provide some half-baked alternative.

One other thing to be aware of. When booking he took the whole charge for the room not just a deposit and the receipt indicated that this is not refundable at all if cancelled even with resasonable notice. I am not sure if this legal but it is actually not a way to get off to a good start with a potential customer.

All in all what was delivered was less than I expected from the picture of the building which does have a fine facade and is ideally situated close to the town centre.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nick f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare O, Owner at Linden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience Nick F - we are sorry you felt it was a bit too casual! We work very hard to to make every guest's experience relaxed, comfortable and personal but clearly didn't achieve it this time. Having owned and operated our guest house for 30+ years as the main income whilst bringing up our (now adult) children, we are sad you felt it was a hobby - it has been anything but to us! We hope to do better with our guests and value your feedback to help us to do better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Small and friendly and a great location - about 100 yards from town center. Room comfortable and breakfast cooked to order. Nice part of the country and within easy reach of Symonds Yat and Hay on Wye, and watch the Severn Bore at Minsterworth. Thanks Patrick for a great weekend.

Room Tip: Room 3 overlooks churchyard
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare O, Owner at Linden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thanks for writing a review Robert - and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are very lucky with our location - quiet yet central to Ross and also some great visits in the area. Hope tp see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Exellent location for visiting and eating in Ross as well as looking around the Wye Valley. Our host, Patrick, was extremely helpful, informative and welcoming. Great breakfast prepared to your own requirements.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank acheet_120029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare O, Owner at Linden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. As breakfast is the only meal we serve (loads of choice for other meals all within 2 mins walk), it's really important you should enjoy it! Hope to see you again soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
1.0 km away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
154 reviews
0.1 km away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
418 reviews
0.4 km away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Radcliffe Guest House
Radcliffe Guest House
#12 of 43 in Ross-on-Wye
127 reviews
7.8 km away
Thatch Close Farm B&B
Thatch Close Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
31 reviews
5.7 km away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Guest House

Address: 14 Church Street | Herefordshire, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: ₹ 6,204 - ₹ 6,376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Guest House bed and breakfast is right in the heart of the heritage area of Ross on Wye. We aim for our bed and breakfast to offer excellent value accommodation just a minute's walk from a selection of restaurants and cosy coffee shops. If you are working locally or planning to enjoy the delights of the stunning Wye Valley, Forest of Dean and, of course, the very beautiful county of Herefordshire, our bed and breakfast is well-placed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Linden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Guest House Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing