We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
111
43
22
11
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
111
43
22
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub the river canoe trip camping area beer garden hearty meal served by friendly staff would highly recommend a visit fantastic setting sunny day steak the sticky toffee pudding sunday lunch wilton castle bank holiday well worth a visit lovely place
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I have been here a few times in the past for just food but decided to have a night stay as a treat. As per usual the food was amazing and the staff were most welcoming and eager to please ( nothing was too much) . The room was more than adiquat for the price and the breakfast was lovely. All in all a lovely stay in a lovely place. Will definatly be going back again.
Many thanks .
Deborah and Anthony Barry .

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We popped in for a meal without a reservation and were a bit concerned about how quiet the place was. That was just our fault as the kitchen had not quite opened. The quality of the food and the hospitality of the staff were excellent. The food is prepared from locally sourced produce; the quality and presentation of the food was superb.

Definitely recommend.

Room tip: Sorry cannot comment as we only had a meal.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 757darrenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

The White Lion has a superb location on the banks of the River Wye - perfect to stop over on a two day Kayak trip.
The camping area is great although tents have to be erected very close together (as requested by the staff) when there is a large area - for us 3 groups and 5 tents all squeezed into a corner!
Only a two man tent is allowed - The White Lion very kindly agreed to hire us their tents. Be warned they are pop up tents! I am 1.68 cm and could not lie straight out, very tight for an adult and a child with no bags or kit. Thank goodness it did not rain whilst we camped - the condensation was so bad it dripped throughout the night onto us so we woke very wet.
So if you camp here take your own tents and make sure they are not too big, very strict on size.
Cooking has to be done on a hard standing area a small distance from the camp area - very small area if there were 10 tents on the site. Not comfortable.
When we stayed 2 years ago we were allowed to cook breakfast in the pub garden and sit at their tables.
Washing up area and the shower area accessed through the pub garden and seating area.
We did have dinner - it was a limited menu available on the Sunday of Bank Holiday.
Great location but felt as a camper not very welcome.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ritchie668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Had an evening meal here husband's was good I decided on short beef rib didn't enjoy it plate was swimming in fat and grease. Lovely location on a summer evening, beautiful view of the river and bridge.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Beverley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Just had the most amazing meal. All the food was high quality. Two of us had hake with pesto crust, fine beans and crushed new potatoes with a lemon herb dressing...delicious. Cod and chips amazing. Venison burger and chips perfectly hit the spot. All superb value. Picturesque setting. Friendly and welcoming staff. Perfection

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews