We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!”
Review of The White Lion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ross-on-Wye
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White Lion
Ranked #21 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Just returned from a four night break at the White Lion. From start to finish we were meet with a smile, and really friendly and helpful staff, nothing was to much trouble. The food was excellent with a good choice of dishes, such as Kangaroo and Zebra! And Ian's homemade Lamb Pie??? We had the option of eating out at several places, all within a short walk from the White Lion, yet chose to eat all our meals there as they were delicious and great value. The breakfast was the best all english we've had. We had the family room which was well equipped, clean with fresh laundery on a daily basis. Part of the short break was to go fishing, which we would have struggled with if it wasn't for Dave the landlord giving us some advice and contacts which helped me catch some great barbel.

We highly recommend the White Lion as you will not be disappointed and we are already in the process of booking next year. Great staff, great accommodation, great surroundings and good value. Many thanks to Dave, Jacqui, Ian, Julie, and all the others whom we didn't catch names, and not forgetting Bailey the dog, see you all next year!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happydays014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacquinewman, Owner at The White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

It was a pleasure having you - looking forward to your next visit next June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 146 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2011

I canoed there with a group of 20 friends over the summer. We had prebooked the camping and had a meal and breakfast in the pub. Yet despite this valuable income, the Landlord and Landlady were really rude and unfriendly. Instead of a friendly welcome we just got a moaning landlord who criticised everything we did whilst we were doing it.

The toilet and shower facilities are shockingly poor with only one shower (and overcharged at a pound a shower) which goes cold if the sink is also used and one toilet for each sex. They also allowed another large group in the next door field to use this poor facility which meant that due to such a huge queue half our group could not shower before the meal. In the morning the pressure on the toilets was once again so unnacceptable that a few of the group tried to use the toilets in the pub only to be told by the rude Landlady that they were for residents only. The staff setting the tables were also rude to those in the queue for the shower and toilets ad failed to see the irony that if the campers had been provided with decent facilities the there would have been no large queue getting in the way!!

So they basically let us pay for camping, an evening meal and breakfast ( making us residents ) but would not let us use their toilets. We will not be going there again and I advise any canoe groups to avoid this pub and its rude managers and appalling facilities!! The rude and arrogant attitude of the landlady who fails to understand customer service is unbelievable!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Big_Stu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacquinewman, Owner at The White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

We note from this review that is a copy of the review posted in July which i did reply to.

As i replied before this was your third group visit to The White Lion - the facilities are the same as they have always been and as in previous years we have never allowed anyone to walk into the pub of our hours except guests who are staying in our rooms mainly for security reasons - you tell me any business that allows strangers to walk around their premises out of hours.

As stated before we do not have a problem with large camping groups i myself have given sunblock and hats to try and help anyone that i possibly can - however we do have a problem with large groups that insist on placing their tents wherever they feel they want them (despite receiving guidelines before your arrival informing you of the guidelines we adhere to due to public right of way)

I note from your review that you have called me names and said i was rude????? the ONLY time i saw you all was when i brought in your dinner - i asked you if you were all ok to which you all replied yes??? I was not around when you all walked into the pub as i was cooking breakfasts so your comments are factually incorrect. i feel that your attitude changed when we did not allow you to drink your own drink which you brought in without our knowledge - this was brought to our attention by another diner.

We can't be all that bad as we do get alot of repeat bookings one large group has been to us 5 times this year alone!!!! and so far bookings for next year are up on this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

They were rude and unhelpful from the outset...

My advice: Camp in the field on the other side of the river and eat and drink in town.

Beware.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RobertSindall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacquinewman, Owner at The White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

The problem arose as once again tents were placed in an unappropriate place even though you were shown where to put them. We do have an agreement with the Parish Council that the tents will be tight up against the wall and not overlapping the public right of way.

It was not me that dealt with you as i was on holiday, but the member of staff who did show you where to camp informed me that a couple of your party were very rude to her when she asked again for the tent to be placed in the proper area.

If dining with us was a problem surely if there are 20 of you on a Saturday Night you would have given us a ring to book a table???

I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

A rude attitude to canoeing groups seems to be the problem. The pub is shooting itself in the foot, as all the people who camped (10 or so tents' worth) the evening we were there went to eat dinner elsewhere as they received such an unfriendly welcome. Why does the landlady have such a chip on her shoulder about those arriving from the river?

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oWoo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I camped at the White Lion part way along a canoe trip down the wye.
The location was fantastic, a lovely view over the river and very quiet despite being relatively close to the main road.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food was great - a hearty meal was exactly what we needed after a (fairly) hard day's canoeing! Breakfast was good the next morning too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gremble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.8 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,146 reviews
0.9 km away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
401 reviews
0.2 km away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
500 reviews
1.3 km away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
489 reviews
0.1 km away
Wilton Court Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion

Address: Wilton Lane | Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The White Lion Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing