We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful views, excellent central location”
other travellers have booked this property
Salcombe  on the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Salcombe  on the beach
Living room kitchen Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Salcombe  on the beach
Living room kitchen
Living room
Superb estuary views from the balcony
Kitchen
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Enter a caption for your photo
Bathroom
Balcony for alfresco entertaining
Front of house
floor plan
Garden
Smalls cove
Splat cove
Walk to stare hole looking down the estuary
Salcombe from East Portlemouth
Salcombe from Snapes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Salcombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JCHanson
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful views, excellent central location”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

14 Courtenay Street was the perfect holiday let for our young family. Its central location meant we could walk to North Sands beach (about a mile) with the buggy if we fancied, or a short walk to the ferry where we could hop over the estuary to some gorgeous little sheltered beaches. We did one supermarket shop in Kingsbridge, and Salcombe's butcher, fishmonger and grocer provided the rest. The garden overlooks the estuary and the sun going down over the boats in the evening with a glass of wine was one of the highlights. The cottage itself is very nicely furnished, stylish and comfortable. A very restful and pleasant holiday was had by all, toddlers notwithstanding!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and location
Liked least: Microwave access and access to garden through bedroom.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
707Nick
Kingston upon Thames
2 reviews
“One of the best in Salcombe”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

As frequent visitors to Salcombe over more years than I care to admit we have stayed in many holiday cottages and for its size this is the best of the many we have stayed in. It has a central yet quiet location and amazing views across the large sunny garden over the main anchorage. The house is well equipped and was very clean. If you have children or a dog there is a park just across the road. The greatest accolade I can pay the property is that I had to think twice about posting a review lest it makes it harder to secure a booking next year! We were very lucky with the weather last week so were able to spend lots of time across the water on the beaches in the quieter coves past Mill Bay but still managed to squeeze in a couple of lunches at the Winking Prawn and dinner at Dick & Wills and the South Sands Hotel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, garden and location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exdoorman
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the Base for a Salcombe Holiday”
Reviewed 19 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Just returned to South Wales after a week at 14,Courtnay St Salcombe...the accomodation was all that we expected (having read previous reviews) - central for Salcombe is more than correct - a well presented,cared for home with all one could expect for a holiday let and more.Plus the "Free" car park pass for the long term car park - another plus when a stranger in town - and can be utilized in neighbouring towns (Kingsbridge & Dartmouth).
Just one word of warning...if you must use the Microwave - give that task to the tallest guest!!! enjoy your stay we three adults Did!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Not being able to park outside,but we did get free car park pass
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jo3316
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday house in an ideal location”
Reviewed 6 November 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here in the summer and were very impressed with the standards of this lovely house. It is placed in an ideal place for exploring Salcombe and the surrounding areas. The house itself has been refurbished to a great standard and is really well equipped - the shower outside is a real plus point after a day on the beach ! Having a garden and somewhere to sit on a summers evening was also great,as was wi-fi when traveling with teenagers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The central location and high standard of the house
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuckoo196...
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 4 November 2012 for a stay in August 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying at 14 Courtenay Street on a number of occasions at all times of the year and in all weathers. No thought went into the title of my review - home away from home sums it up completely. However, if I had a view like this from my living room window - actually a whole wall - I doubt I'd ever leave. But as it is only a 5 minute stroll from central Salcombe with all that it has to offer, that would be really rather silly.

The owners have decorated the property to a very high standard bringing in elements of the coast and sea wherever possible. The set up works brilliantly with an open plan living space upstairs and two good sized bedrooms downstairs which can be configured to accommodate either a family or a group of friends. A newly decorated bathroom, an outside shower and a beautiful garden give the feeling of a much larger space than you would expect in the centre of Salcombe.

It is clearly a family home which is loved and well cared for but, at the same time, provides all the mod cons needed to make it the perfect holiday rental. I cannot count the number of times I have returned and there is nowhere else I'd rather stay in one of my favourite places in the UK.

For those that don't know Salcombe, it is a beautiful spot on the south coast of Devon which offers fantastic beaches, stunning coastal walks, great restaurants/cafes/bars and plenty to do within the town and the surrounding areas. Oh, and did I mention the shops? Put it this way, it is a girl's shopping heaven whatever your age.

I'm slightly loathe to press 'submit' on this review in case I can't get in again due to solid bookings but that would be unfair to everyone else who'd like to discover a fabulous holiday home in a gorgeous - and very British - location. Try it. You'll be glad you did.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the living area.
Liked least: Parking can be difficult in Salcombe at busy times of the year.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;