We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Jubilee weekend”
Review of The Victoria Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Victoria Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Salcombe B&B and Inns
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Super Jubilee weekend”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Wanted somewhere central to stay in Salcombe for the Jubilee weekend. The town was predictably busy, and the weather predictably variable, so accommodation in a location where we could pop in and out easily was a priority.

The Hobbit House is simply perfect in this scenario - a very nice room literally yards from the busy quayside but tucked away behind the Victoria Inn. Everything works (great shower!) and the price is very reasonable by Salcombe standards.

A great weekend. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weizen_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Weizen-mike

Thank you for your lovely review - and I hope you'll always remember this very special jubilee weekend,

best wishes

Liz Hore - Licensee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    21
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
43
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was a Boys Weekend, walking the cliff paths in early March, and we arrived late on the first evening. Before even getting us to sign the paperwork our hostess took one look at us and poured us a pint first!

Every evening we were made welcome in the bar at our own special table, reserved for us all evening, every evening, by the fire. It helped that it was winter and the town was largely deserted, but still the welcome was genuine and warming.

Having eaten so well there on the first evening we did not bother to seek anywhere else, and ate at "our" table in the bar every night.

As they said on their website, they did not do breakfast but this did not matter as there was a great café for breakfast right across the road. Being March we were even able to park across the road at the small (pay) carpark. All my previous experiences of Salcombe have been in high season where the nearest place to park was about Birmingham!

Downside? Well, the twin room was snug for two middle-aged gentlemen (the other bloke SNORES, how his wife stands it I dunno) and the extractor fan in the bathroom struggled to cope with the two of us. The other man had the single room. He seemed very happy. However, this is just a minor niggle and we were very very happy with our hotel/restaurant/pub.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lefthandwillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Lefthand Willie
Thank you so much for your great review - I'm glad you 'boys' enjoyed your break! I wish all the reviews were as witty and funy as well! A reflection of you all thats for sure! Come back again soon.

Kind regards

Liz Hore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Stayed in the hobbit double what a surprise lovely room reasonably priced the licensee liz was a great host ate in the packed pub good value food we will be back

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshire64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Dear Yorkshire64
Thank you so much for your great review and I'm delighted that you had such a good time with us. Thank you also for your flattering comments regarding myself!

We look forward to welcoming you on another occasion,

Kind regards

Liz Hore - Licensee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My family eat at this pub fairly regularly when they are in Salcombe and we were very excite about eating here after having heard great things about it. However our experience was not a good one. Firstly our booking was cancelled without us knowing (no one knew why), we were given another table (quite crammed) but had to be out by 8pm for the next guests (who kicked up quite a fuss upon arrival as we were not quite finished). The food was terrible to say the least - I ate a fish hotpot which was watery, very fishy/tasteless fish with half cooked potato on top. The vegetables were so over cooked it was reminiscent of school. The sausages (and mash) were hardly browned and i didn't really want to give them to my 2 year old.
All in all very disappointing....and very expensive for such a disappointing experience.
A real, real, real shame as we're always looking for a good place to eat out in Salcombe.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
Dear Sarah
Firstly, may I apologise wholeheartedly for the confusion over your booking. You are absolutely correct in saying it had been cancelled and no one could explain why. No one on my team 'owned up' to cancelling it, and it was very clearly cancelled in error, but with no telephone contact number taken we were unable to ring you to check this out.
In terms of the comments regarding the food, I can only say that I'm sorry if we disappointed you, however, during this busy summer holiday period we have been serving almost 300 meals every day and I have only received a handful of complaints in this time. Of course we strive to get it right 100% of the time, but clearly on this occasion you felt we had got it wrong.
If you would like to respond to my private e mail to you I would welcome the opportunity to offer you a reduction on another occasion with us.
Kindest regards

Liz Hore - Licensee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire,England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

The 2 rooms in the Hobbit House to the rear of the Victoria Inn offer good accommodation for a short break, situated in the centre of Salcombe and all the staff we encountered were helpful and friendly. The evening meals we had in the Inn were to a very high standard at a reasonable price and the service was excellent. The Inn doesn't have a car park but you can drop off your luggage in the layby outside and park in the public car park overnight.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
Thank you for your great review and we're pleased you had such a good stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you on another occasion!

Kind regards

Liz Hore - Licensee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salcombe hotels
0.3 km away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.9 km away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
755 reviews
1.9 km away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
164 reviews
6.5 km away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
404 reviews
6.5 km away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Inn

Property: The Victoria Inn
Address: Fore Street, Salcombe TQ8 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Salcombe
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,762
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tim & Liz Hore extend a warm welcome to you to join them at the Victoria Inn, Salcombe - a traditional pub with traditional values, set in the middle of Salcombe high street. 2 Beautifully presented en-suite bedrooms in a garden setting and the only pub in Salcombe to offer accommodation. An award winning pub offering fantastic ales & wines from around the world - Champagne by the glass and excellent customer service. Great food sourced locally where possible and cooked to order, with bookings advisable all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Victoria Hotel Salcombe
The Victoria Inn Salcombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing