We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
272
205
60
33
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
205
60
33
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel traditional hotel no lift four poster christmas day the ground floor wedding reception central location good sized car park public areas comfortable hotel scones pannier market double room pudding sunday lunch centre of town
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 582 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

We brought my mum for high tea for her birthday and it was absolutely lovely. The hotel is very beautiful but very relaxed, so you don't get that stuffy feeling you get in some really lovely hotels. We sat in a very comfortable lounge area and had high tea. Lots of Lovely cakes and sandwiches and the service was first rate. They even topped up our tea pots for us. I would definitely recommend, and we will definitely come back

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank weeny_mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed for the night and as lovely as the hotel looks it the rooms are in need of some updating just little things like no power points near the bed side table. The beds were originally . The staff were helpful and friendly

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Terry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Room was nicely appointed in a historic but updated building that had great character. It was in a central locations with great walkability. We were able to take the bus to Plymouth for a fun walk on the harbor as well as into neighboring towns to explore historic sites.

Room Tip: Street side can be a bit noisy at night if the window is left open as there is a bar just down the street.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I stayed here for one night with my family. The hotel is well situated in the centre of the town. The age of the building is betrayed by creaking floor boards, but the property has been very well maintained, with extremely comfortable chairs and settees in the lounge, where food from the bar is available all day. Our bedroom, which was situated near the top of the staircase on the first floor was well furnished, with very comfortable beds and the en-suite facility was one of the best that I have ever experienced. The staff were all welcoming and friendly and the breakfast,which was served in the restaurant, could not be faulted. I look forward to staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: The only lift is from the ground floor down to the car park, so the upper floors have to be reached by stairs.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Visited yesterday for an afternoon tea at The Bedford. All I can say is that magnificent describes the tea very well. The food is brought to you on an attractive 3 tier slate cake stand and a tea for two people consisted of 3 finger sandwiches each (ham, cheese & smoked salmon), some leaves with a lovely dressing, a little bucket of parsnip crisps (delicious), four different small cakes each (the coffee walnut cake was the nicest I've ever tasted), a huge scone each with jam and clotted cream and a pot of tea. We struggled to eat it all but somehow we managed!! We had the tea in the lounge in very comfortable armchairs and felt thoroughly spoilt! The staff are very friendly and helpful and we will return again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Goldmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 October 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write about your excellent afternoon tea experience. I was delighted to read your detailed description which is exactly how it should be served. I am pleased you were comfortable and that the staff were friendly and helpful.

I do hope you return soon.

Many thanks,

Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews