We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friday lunch”
Review of The Oaken Arms

The Oaken Arms
Ranked #127 of 542 Restaurants in Wolverhampton
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 21
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Take an off the beaten track location in Oaken, a menu bursting with fresh seasonal dishes and a cellar full of real ales and fine wines and you have the ingredients for the perfect country pub and restaurant. It's a winning formula of traditional mixed with a few contemporary touches that makes The Oaken Arms a special place to visit.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Just returned from the Oaken after an absence of a couple of years.The interior was fresh and clean after a recent refurb.The manager was very welcoming and informative.My wife had the seafood and I had the duo of lamb,both were beautifully cooked and presented well.The waiting staff were attentive without being intrusive.The one big downside for us was the presence of dogs,lots of them.We were going to stay for a second drink and a sweet but were put of by so many dogs.We had difficulty getting to the bar to pay due to dogs lying in the aisles.The manager,Liam,did explain that normally there were only one or two dogs present but not today.The food is excellent and the staff exceptional and if they have dog free days we will return.

2  Thank Maurice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Oaken Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hi bretonmo

Thank you for the kind words about the pub and the food, glad you tried us again,

Apologies for the amount of dogs on your visit. We are a dog friendly pub and we try to limit them to the bar area. I appreciate though when you left the dining area you had to navigate your way through some on your exit. As I mentioned we don't normally have 4 or 5 dogs in at one time and its usually 4 or 5 a week.

Hope you try us again soon

Liam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Comfortable surroundings, friendly staff, obviously busy, so glad we had booked ahead. The quality of the food was excellent and well presented. Every member of the party was pleased with their choices. Would definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Discombobulate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Oaken Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Discombobulate

Thank you for the 5 star review and lovely comments.

Really pleased you and your party enjoyed your time at the pub.

Hope to see you again soon

Warmest regards

Liam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Great food, value for money & nice staff. The menu is comprehensive and competitively priced. Quality of the food was excellent. Very good selection of real ales. (Wife drank coke but she was driving) I'd recommend and I'd take friends here for a good meal.

Thank DaveJW65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Oaken Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hi Dave

What a great review! Thanks!

Thanks for the lovely comments, I will share this with the team.

Hope to see you again soon

Warmest regards

Liam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Called in on the way to the Theatre for early evening food.
First night open after re-furb.
Pub does look inviting from outside, plenty of outdoor seating for when the weather improves!
They welcome well behaved dogs & there are biscuits & a drink station in the front porch.
Indoors it’s still has its open fire & cosy seating at the front - for drinks or more casual dining.
We had fish&chips (tartare sauce&mushy peas) & chicken pie (light crispy puff pastry top, mash & plenty of well-cooked veg).
Service was excellent, drinks offered & orders taken quickly. Food arrived quickly too, very fresh, very hot, good/large portions & very tasty.
We were sat near the bar & observed the staff - very professional, communicating about which customers needed what, and just generally working together well...& efficiently. Impressed.
Thank you Liam & team, we will be back soon.

1  Thank alialy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Oaken Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hi Ali

What a great review! This is going up on the team notice board, thank you!

I really appreciate your kind words about the pub and especially the team. To give us such glowing feedback really validates the hard work the team put in.

Hope to see you again soon

Warmest regards

Liam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

Normally never go out for Mothers Day as always busy and expect food to be poor and service compromised, however totally the opposite at Oaken Arms. We had 3 courses off Mothers Day menu and all of us enjoyed every course, service was just right with an ideal wait between courses, food was excellent. Well done to all

Thank Darryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Oaken Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Hi Darryl

Thank for your rating us 5 stars and leaving such a great review.

Its our busiest day of the year but we try our hardest to make it as enjoyable as possible for our guests. Thank you for recognising this.

Hope to see you again soon

Warmest regards

Liam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oaken Arms also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to The Oaken Arms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing