We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good but!”
Review of The Anchor Inn

The Anchor Inn
Ranked #352 of 554 Restaurants in Wolverhampton
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Anchor Inn in Cross Green is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Called for lunch after a Spring walk along the canal. Everything was very good/excellent including attractive exterior, tidy car park, friendly welcome, clean toilets with hot water, nice atmosphere, good service but the experience was spoiled by the very poor quality venison steak which was served with a good selection of vegetables. I was not charged for my coffee but I would have much preferred to have had a good steak.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

David B, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Anchor!, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback, please accept our appologise for the poor meat quality. Thanks again for taking the time to leave us this information about your recent visit. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 77 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

This was our fifth visit here and this time it was disappointing,the beef was very chewy and the Yorkshire puddings resisted being cut .We were served by three different waitresses which was slightly unusual.I put this experience down to the place being very busy on Easter Sunday. We will visit again though.

2  Thank malcolmj144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We were given a warm welcome and offered a choice of seating, the menu was clear and not over fussy, We had the fixed price lunchtime menu, offering 3 courses for a very reasonable £17.95 each.Our starters arrived quickly his lamb kofta and my duo of pate looked beautiful and tasted even better, the mains arrived piping hot and without a long wait between courses, the chicken and thyme pie was one of the nicest things I have eaten in a long time, but my partners chargrilled rump steak sandwich looked amazing and I would have swapped if the pie hadn't been soooooo good. The meal was finished with two delightful deserts, the delight of my guest when he discovered ice cream and custard were served with the apple pie, was the stuff of dreams. I opted for the hot drink and mini pudding, the coffee is really good, and the mini melba mallow mess, was just the right size and tasted gorgeous. Our bill arrived promptly on request.

I cannot recommend this pub enough its worth 5+ stars, can't wait to go back

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jannyff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Jannyff, your wonderful feedback and rating mean a lot to us. We're looking forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Me and my partner visited for the first time this week - we had a lovely table in the back of the restaurant. The staff were friendly and attentive, the decoration was spot on, and the food was wonderful! Great range of wines and gins to try!
We will be back!

Thank jjfood62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

We booked here as a surprise for one of our friends that is expecting a baby. We arrived quite a bit earlier than the time we had booked for, as we wanted to decorate the table, this wasn't a problem and we were shown straight to our table. Our waiter (sorry didn't catch his name) was really friendly and attentive,came over to us at just the right times and made sure we wernt left wanting anything, which was nice. Little bit of a wait for the main, but nothing worth complaining about. We all had mains and desert and couldn't fault any of it. Lovely, friendly, cosy little pub, that's well worth a visit, will definatly be back again!

Thank 987daniw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

987daniw, we're happy to hear you had such a positive experience with our team! we're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Anchor Inn also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing