We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what we wanted”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kindling Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Huge bed
Just add bubbles!
The Plough Inn  150 yards away!
Our local  Cosy as could be
Great range of local beers
Stalisfield Church
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashford, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kellie M
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booked the weekend here to mark a special occasion. We were looking for somewhere to relax and enjoy the countryside and this cottage really delivered. Wonderful welcome - immaculate accommodation and lovely location. Had a delicious meal at The Plough on the Friday night (amazing venison Wellington) this place is only a 3 minute walk - all in all 5 star and from the looks of things will have to get in early to book again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chriscann...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great stay, friendly people beautiful house lovely bed and bathroom heated flooring.... It goes on! Booking again asap!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond A
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Country Life Hideaway”
Reviewed 24 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stay in holiday cottages in Kent on a regular basis and Kindling Cottage was by far the best we have stayed in. It was decorated in beautiful colours just like in a design magazine. It was also the most comfortable cottage we have stayed in with all the bits and pieces needed to make it home from home. Crissie and Frank are the perfect hosts and will always be available to help if needed. A short walk from the cottage is the Plough Pub which is really friendly and serves great food. My friend said it was the best fish and chips he had ever had. Just outside the pub is a bus stop which I took to Faversham for a day out. Also it is fairly close to Canterbury and Ashford. So all in all a lovely five day holiday so thank you Crissie and Frank.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole cottage
Liked least: Road to the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“GREAT HOLIDAY ACCOMMODATION IN LOVELY LOCATION”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed in Kindling Cottage for 7 nights. The Accommodation is basically brand new and is well equipped with a large multi fuel hob (gas)/oven (electric), dishwasher, microwave and washer/dryer. The accommodation is very spacious for 2 people. The bedroom is lovely with a very comfortable large bed and a flat screen TV. The bathroom features a lovely wet room type shower area and a free standing bath. There is also an ample supply of towels. Chrissie and Frank have created something special here to allow people to have a great comfortable and cosy time. There are plenty of footpaths leading from Stalisfield and the countryside is simply stunning. There is a lovely pub/restaurant in the village called the the Plough Inn, which is about a 3 - 5 minute walk from Kindling Cottage. We ate there 4 nights and had one lunch there. The food was absolutely lovely. All in all we will certainly consider returning to Kindling Cottage. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorsettra...
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was by far the best holiday cottage of the many we have stayed in over the years. This impression was no doubt helped by it being almost new and fabulous weather. However without those two attributes it still would be without equal regarding others we have visited. As the cottage is near the owners house there is always 7someone available it you have a query or problem. We particularly liked this as we did not feel we were on our own if something should go wrong. A bit like the support you would get at an hotel particularly in view of the friendly nature of the owners. I should however add that this support was never intrusive.
The whole place is so quiet and restful yet within short driving distances of many places of interest Easy walking to the local pub with its excellent food and local beers is another plus point

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the cottage
Liked least: Nothing we did not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing