We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop over on the way to France”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashford International Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ashford
Certificate of Excellence
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stop over on the way to France”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Very friendly helpful staff. Expecially in waiting staff in restaurant, where they were having to cope with a very busy kitchen as functions were happening and making service a little slow.
Stayed in a Delux King Room, as you would expect, clean and comfortable, would have been nice to have drinks in the fridge though.
We use this hotel as a convienent stop over on the way to France, and it is our favourite in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJM079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIHGeneralManager, General Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear BJM079
Many thanks for your review and I’m pleased that you find the hotel a comfortable and convenient stop over on the way to France. Perhaps next time you might like to stay in one of our QStar rooms which include amongst other things a stocked mini fridge, luxurious duck feather bedding, robes and upgraded toiletries. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you when you next travel down this way. Kind Regards Deirdre Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    509
    177
    63
    33
See reviews for
243
453
44
289
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed at the Ashford International 27th April 2012 with my boyfriend for a overnight spa break, we arrived at 3pm to check in. The hotel room was nice and clean. Had treatments at 4pm I had the massage and facial. The staff were all very friendly and polite, the relaxation room before we had our treatments was lovely. Then went to the swimming pool, it isn't massive but for what we wanted it was ideal. The only down side is the size of the jacuzzi, only good for 2 people, and was quite popular so didn't get to use the jacuzzi which was a shame. The sauna rooms were good though, one with a dry heat and one with a wet heat. We paid £109 each for the treatments and dinner, breakfast and lunch. I thought this was great value. The evening meal was gorgeous, I was really suprised by the lovely presentation of the food and the taste. Breakfast buffet was also very nice, unfortunately didn't get to have lunch the next day. We had to check out at 11am, but there was nothing stopping us from using the facilities alday.
The only downside to our stay was the lack of pillows on the bed, I didn't sleep very well! But apart from that had a lovely stay and all the staff made us feel very welcome. Would come again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIHGeneralManager, General Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear nancy l
Thank you for your lovely review. The Chef was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your evening meal and I’m pleased that overall you found your spa break great value for money and that the team looked after you well. With regards to the pillows, there are an extra 2 pillows in the wardrobe if you prefer extra. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards Deirdre Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Neots
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed here with two friends for a weekend break. Although we didn't have an evening meal in the hotel breakfast was very good, and buffet style so you could eat what you wanted! The room was comfortable & clean & the staff were friendly.Easy to find, but not within walking distance of restaurnats, so bear that in mind.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonneflint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIHGeneralManager, General Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Yvonne1954
Many thanks for your review and I’m pleased that you and your friends enjoyed your weekend break away. Ashford town centre is about a 20 minute walk or 5 minute drive from the hotel. I have shared your feedback with the team and we look forward to being of service to you again soon. Kind Regards Deirdre Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We have stayed here as a couple twice before, but as a treat for a special occasion we brought the children but paid extra for a suite... For extra comfort and the all the lovely trimmings you get for that i.e robes, nice toiletries and filter coffees etc...
All was fine in the spa as we knew what to expect having visited before. After arriving back into our room having an hour until our dinner reservation it all went wrong- there was a major problem with the room that required maintenance- but there was maintenance personnel on shift (on a Saturday night) we had to repack our belongings with upset children to a standard room- they gave us an adjoining room with all respect but unfortunately all the luxuries were gone and our time to relax had passed and we were now eating too late for the children.
Dinner in the restaurant was awful- but that was mainly because of the service we received (although for an a la carte the steak was an embarrassment to the poor chef- I wish I'd taken my phone for pictures!!!!). We felt like the facilities in the restaurant were there for the children as they were given a cup and a drawing pack. But it was quite degrading to be left waiting as long as we did whilst they did their upmost to please the couples!!!!! Especially as it was so late.
By the time the duty manager tried to rectify the situation it was time to go to bed Although when she asked my 6yr old what he would like- he being a typical child said "a ham sandwich". When it was brought to him, he took a great big bite to find it also had a good helping of mustard in it!!! Well you can just imagine it!! I thought Jeremy beadle was about to make an appearance!!! :( We all couldn't wait to go home in the morning and felt we had paid all that money for a dip in the pool and then some good old STRESS!! The worst of it is the customer service we received afterwards was appalling and we were left wishing we had stayed at a premier inn and taken the kids into a brewers fayre for their evening meal- it would have been better quality for the price we paid!!!
Please be reminded when reading this review that we have stayed here before so this was quite a shock to us!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OCMCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIHGeneralManager, General Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear OCMCP

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was disappointed when I heard about the issues experienced during your stay. Please be assured they do not reflect our usual standards. I know my PA was in contact with you and the matter was resolved within 24 hours of you departing the hotel. My apologies once again. Kind Regards Deirdre Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a weekend away while touring National Trust properties in Kent. It is well located and very good value for money for the special weekend rate. Rooms were excellent with all the facilities you would expect from this class of hotel. We only eat there fro breakfast but this was excellent with a good choice of cereals, pastries and the full English breakfast. Staff were all friendly, efficient and helpful. I'd have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camspig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AIHGeneralManager, General Manager at Ashford International Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear CamsPig
Many thanks for recently reviewing our hotel and I’m pleased that you found the hotel a comfortable and enjoyable base for your weekend. There are so many beautiful castles and gardens in the area; we do hope to welcome you again in the near future so you can continue exploring. Kind Regards Deirdre Billing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
32.2 km away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
4.0 km away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Ashford - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Ashford (Eureka Leisure Park) Hotel
14.4 km away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
4.1 km away
Premier Inn Ashford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashford International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford International Hotel

Property: Ashford International Hotel
Address: Simone Weil Avenue, Ashford TN24 8UX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Ashford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ashford
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,980 - ₹ 11,129
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashford International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ashford International Hotel is located close to J9 of the M20 motorway and minutes from the Eurostar terminal, Channel Tunnel and only 36 minutes from London. The hotel boasts 19 state-of-the-art conference rooms and 179 sumptuous bedrooms. The hotel has a contemporary brasserie style restaurant Horizon, Costa Coffee and the more informal sports bar with pool table, Quench. Leisure and Spa facilities feature a 20m indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, Technogym, relaxation suite and six beauty treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashford International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashford Hotel International
Ashford International Hotel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing