We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic location and gorgeous house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lavender cottage

With a modern multi oven and induction hob and a great space,the kitchen is a true hub.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
With a modern multi oven and induction hob and a great space,the kitchen is a true hub.
The kitchen;spaceous and light with views over a gorgeous cottage garden The cosy livingroom houses a Multifuel stove and superb bed settee.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
With a modern multi oven and induction hob and a great space,the kitchen is a true hub.
The kitchen;spaceous and light with views over a gorgeous cottage garden
The cosy livingroom houses a Multifuel stove and superb bed settee.
Downstairs Wetroom. Ideal for wheelchair use with low level shower control
Wheelchair access to the cottage
Our beautiful new porch is now in situ
continuing to improve the garden environment, brand new steps to the top garden now in place.
A private dog run accessible via french doors or dog flap for men's best friend.
Upstairs wetroom / toilet
The Utility room houses a Dishwasher, Washing machine and Full size freezer and small sink.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Banbury, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
R C
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Idyllic location and gorgeous house”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What a find! The house is gorgeous - extremely well equipped and the attention to detail is fantastic - there was even a baby bath, highchair and a box of toys for our 11 month old son to use. The owners were very welcoming and had thought of everything. The location is idyllic and there are lots of lovely walks nearby - we'll definitely be back with our dog to explore some more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2016
Thank you for your kind words, it was great to meet you all and we look forward to meeting the dog the next time .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue B
Redhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Idyllic setting, beautiful cottage, everything provided.”
Reviewed 14 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This cottage was a real find. Booked for a visit over Christmas to be near family but not under their feet. There was a beautifully decorated and lit tree, and a roaring fire in the log burner. Everything had been thought of to make our stay very enjoyable. From the Poinsettia and candles in the kitchen to the big basket of towels in each bathroom. All the essentials - tea, coffee, milk, butter, bread, cereals etc. had been provided along with some non essential chocolates!
The position of the cottage yards away from fields was perfect for walking dogs, and the facilities within meant that muddy mutts were not a problem. The cottage was spotless, and had all the equipment you would ever need.
I would definitely recommend Lavender Cottage to anyone, I only wish we could have stayed another week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The mixture of country cottage with modern facilities
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2016
Thank you for your generous review Susan. It's great to know you enjoyed your stay and felt at home away from home. Thank you for leaving the cottage as you found it, it is appreciated. Hopefully we will see you again in 2016.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo M
Sherborne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, peaceful, perfect”
Reviewed 22 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is idyllic. A real rural escape with a wonderful welcome. In its village location, it is well situated between market towns of Banbury and Chipping Norton. Surrounded by glorious countryside, my four legged companions were in their element with miles of fields and footpaths to explore. The cottage is renovated to a very high standard with all fixtures and fittings you can imagine to make the stay comfortable. It was genuinely hard to leave after one week here, it's a real gem, that I'm so glad I found. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2015
Thank you for your review Jo. We are happy you felt the good vibe the cottake gives off. Your dogs were a pleasure being so well behaved. See you next year. Merry Christmas. J and M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie931
Malton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An ideal cottage to have a country retreat in a scenic area”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Upon entering the cottage we were pleasantly greeted with a beautiful set up of both modern and traditional features. Within the cosy cottage; we had been supplied with everything we needed to ensure a good stay, i.e a welcome pack (cereals, juice, eggs, and bacon!), water bowl for the dog, dog blankets, logs for the log burner. The hosts were exceptionally friendly to us and ensured we had a welcoming stay. Near by attractions included Blenheim Palace (approx 30-40 mins away), access to a field to walk the dog in and Banbury town. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to come back again in the future.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very special space to escape :)”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I had a very special time in this cottage located in this peaceful village. It had everything we could wish for, dishwasher, washing machine, dryer & fully equipped kitchen. We would definitely go back again, we wanted for nothing. The owners were very accommodating and gave us a very warm welcome. The cottage was spotless with lovely garden views. It's a 5 star without doubt!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: See review
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing