We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little lunch”
Review of By the Fire

By the Fire
Ranked #45 of 219 Restaurants in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

I have visited this little tea shop a couple of times now and love the cosy homely interior. Staff are always very friendly and the food is perfect if your hungry but don't want an overly large lunch, also really handy if your looking to take something away to have in a lunch break or at home. The sandwiches are very pleasant and their brownie is definitely a favourite. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank JEB22071997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2017

I live in Birmingham and meet here once a month with a mate from Oxford. We arrive before it gets going for lunch and sink into the upstairs sofas. Roomy enough for a good heart to heart without telegraphing our business to the next group. Good coffee (and teas) excellent nibbles. Lemon drizzle on the last visit.
Staff are lovely, very helpful running up and down stairs with fresh supplies. Loo is across the courtyard.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Comfy, relaxed atmosphere. but food is overpriced and no longer the best quality. Have been disappointed now on the last few trips and only go back due to the setting.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 835jess78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

It doesn't get much better than this, nice home-made food at very reasonable prices, great family run business nice surroundings what else can you ask for.

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank Antonio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

I have visited this beautiful cafe/restaurant on many occasions and every single time I have been delighted with it. The welcome you are given on arrival makes you feel very special and all the tables and chairs are so comfortable.

We have eaten upstairs each time and the decor is clean and cosy.

The food is freshly prepared and there is a lovely selection of hot and cold to suit everyone's taste.

All in all a fabulous place to stop and unwind and I will be visiting again many many times in the future

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed By the Fire also viewed

 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to By the Fire? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing