We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such lovely service”
Review of Little Amsterdam

Little Amsterdam
Ranked #9 of 212 Restaurants in Banbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 1 - US$ 13
Cuisines: Dutch, International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Delicious Dutch food! Pancakes, sandwiches, soups, salads, omelettes, tea, coffee, beer and wine as well as traditional Dutch home-cooked meals and treats!
Reviewed 1 February 2018

7 of us had a light lunch here recently. Food very tasty - I recommend the Mustard Soup - and service excellent from a young man who had only been there 2 o 3 weeks - an engaging personality

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JeanERB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilja H, Owner at Little Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write the review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2018

Friendly, courteous staff, attentive without being intrusive, this is the ideal venue to catch up with friends whilst enjoying scrumptious pancakes, enhanced by helpful suggestions from knowledgeable staff, i.e. who would have thought maple syrup drizzled over chicken and ham pancake would work - trust me, it does!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank griffitc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilja H, Owner at Little Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love it when people have a good time. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018 via mobile

Being dutch myself I had been looking forward to visiting for many years.
As we were passing Banbury I finally had the opportunity to visit.
We were seated by a very nervous looking waiter who clearly wasn’t trained on seating and panic seated, using at the first table he saw, not considering that there were many more cozy tables available. I noticed that happened every time he seated.
Apparently he had been there only for 4 days but clearly needed more training. Couldn’t even ask simple questions about the company and its background.
The bamiballen were nice but very overpriced. Wanted to order saté kroketten but only to be told it was off the menu. Makes sense to be told when seated.
Lovely decor, felt a bit at home, little dutch background music would have been nice to add to the style.

Thank larsdew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilja H, Owner at Little Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I have emailed you personally but noticed that I hadn't responded to you on here. We do pride ourselves with our staff and unfortunately we don't always get it right. The wonderful staff that you see time and time again are fully trained and happy to be here. All the staff that are here now will be happy and knowledgable to answer your questions or to find the answers for you.
As far as the Dutch snacks are concerned, unfortunately we have to get them imported and we have to pay a premium for that. But they are delicious and a great way to taste some new dishes not found in many places across the UK.
We hope you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

I've been to Little Amsterdam a few times and every time I have received the same excellent service and high quality food that is well worth the price. Location is great and the high number of staff means you get served quicker. Worth a visit.

Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Visited today after we found ourselves unexpectedly in Banbury and needing to be that side of town for a couple of hours.

We had the breakfast waffle and a banana pancake. Waffle was great, nice bacon and syrup at the table.

Couldn't finish the banana pancake, but really enjoyed it. £20 for a dish and a drink each for 2, service was pleasant and service fast.

Would go back again :-)

Thank lmbh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Amsterdam also viewed

Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 
Banbury, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Little Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing