We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Basildon
Nearby Hotels
US$ 52
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$ 82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel(Basildon)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bell Inn Hotel(Horndon-on-the-Hill)
US$ 121
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orsett Hall(Orsett)
US$ 133
US$ 130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (550)
Filter reviews
550 results
Traveller rating
102
208
141
57
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
208
141
57
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive roomtrouser pressretail parkbusiness tripa bit tiredfestival leisure parkpizza hutnice staystayed here for one nightclean hotelmember of staffexcellent breakfastgood nights sleepno frillscomfy bedihgcinema
Filter
Updating list...
466 - 471 of 550 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2012

One of those places that were booming approximately in the '80s, but did not see major renovation since then - and it shows.
Absolutely terrible price/value ratio - but that seems to go for all greater London area, so if you're looking for value for money go somewhere where you do not have to pay in Pounds.
But if you need to go to the area, you won't find much better places - not because this one is so good but because the others are about the same bad.

Room Tip: If you want a Non-Smoker unit, insist on that when making the booking - if you don't you may end up in a bad smelling smoker's unit.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werner B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Dear Mr Werner

I am sorry to read that you did not find the hotel good value for money, please be assured that we have a rolling maintenance and cleaning plan in place to ensure the hotel is kept in a good condition and offers everything our guests may require.

I hope that you may visit us again in the future and am i sure that your experience would be very different.

Kind Regards

Daniel Sharpe
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Everything about this hotel is standard. Room was fine. Good night's sleep. Breakfast was the usual unappetising buffet of cooked breakfast lying under warm lights and looking like it had been there sometime.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian_COLCHESTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Adrian

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor.

I must appolgise that the breakfast did not meet your expectations on that day. I will ensure that these comments are fed back to our breakfast team so that we can improve moving forward.

I was happy to read though that the room was good and you had a good nights sleep.

I hope to be able to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Kind Regards

Daniel Sharpe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Stayed on the 22nd December 2011 due to a Funeral it was necessary to stay the night before, and location was good, although if not using a Satnav, a planned journey would be well advised to be organised as the Entertainment complex where the Hotel sits, could be a nightmare to find as like a New town of the Fifties, Basildon is very generously spread over Essex, so miss a turn and you could be looking at a Warehouse or office block as the road and area is one big industrial/Business park so take advice, and dont panic.Hotel food is good to average, could be cheaper, although check out the menu first, but a short walk away or drive within 2 minutes are a variety of restaurants and carverys which are reasonable.
Rooms exceptionally clean suited to business or short stay on route accomodation, Bathroom clean & tidy and provide all you need, Tea coffee at hand, comfortable bed, good TV, average price would not pay much more, so 8 out 10 is fair to say, so well done to all staff should they read this! Thanks it made the journey and visit, more comfortable in light of sad circumstances of the funeral the following day.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake are nice for view and possibly quieter, but generally I am sure all are of a good standard
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusseXFactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for the kind comments regarding your stay with us.

It is great to read that my team and the hotel offered you the service and facilties that were needed during a sad time for you.

Just to let you know we are always taking on board feedback on how we can better improve our product so your comments about the menu pricing will be fed back up the line.

I hope to welcome you back in the future ,under better circumstances next time

Kind Regards

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Been here many times before on business. Hotel is next to often busy leisure park. Rooms are basic. No complaints but would not want to be here more than a few days.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnGMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear John

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your many visits to us here at Basildon Holiday Inn.

Although it is great to read that you view us as good value, i would welcome the opportunity to here form you on what we could do for you in particular to make your stay, that more enjoyable.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Daniel

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Firstly I was met with very helpful reception staff on 28th dec.The cooridors do need some repainting as quite drab and not hotel like. I stayed in an executive room but it was in name only. Although the bed was comfy and linen v nice, the bathroom needed updating. The bath and floor were not clean.
My biggest disappointment was the breakfast. No fresh bread, a pile of bread for toaster that simply burnt the toast whoever tried it.
So if you simply need a room for business then this is totally adequate but it is not in my view suitable for a 'holiday'

Room Tip: The front of hotel is noisy due to being in retail area especially Friday/Saturday so back of hotel would be quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluebellEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Dear Guest

It is always great to read positive comments about our team members.

I am however sorry to read that our breakfast did not meet your expectations, We have reveiwed how we keep our buffet fresher and we already have a little and often policy for the topping up of the buffet. We may now see if this needs to become even less and even more often.

Due to the festive period we had a couple of challenges with local revelers that were patrons of the leisure park next door but these were isolated incidents.

The hotel itself is quite during that week as a rule so next year we may look at closing down the front part of the building so that we do not allocate anybody into the rooms that face the front.

Thank you for your response and constructive feedback

Kind Regards

Daniel Sharpe
Operations Manager

Without these comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews