We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
104
22
6
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
22
6
6
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I booked the Chateau for my girlfriend's birthday. We'd been to Alton Towers and wanted to break up the trip back north so Buxton was ideal. I was happy with what I'd booked until I read the reviews on here!! Administration...tatty...poor...etc. ARGH! I prepped my girlfriend to expect the average, but we were over the moon when we arrived! The Chateau is very impressive and immediately sets a perfect scene.

You actually stay in a suite in the block just next to the chateau, but they make this clear on the website. If you want to stay in the actual Chateau don't book! Our suite was lovely. 3 bedrooms...of which we used one, a lovely lounge, modern kitchen, all finished to a high standard. We were only staying for a night so it was more than ample as a couple!! To be honest, it just worked out more cost effective to stay here than any of the other hotels in Buxton.

On closer inspection I can see the points about it needing a bit of work. I can only speak for the suite we stayed in of course. The door to the balcony was a little bit sticky and some of the paintwork needed a refresh. Apart from that it was good, and certainly not enough to ruin our trip.

Close enough to walk into Buxton in about 5 mins, although it is up a slight hill so maybe a taxi might be required for older visitors. Oh, one other thing...it had an ironing board, but no iron....if you really want to iron something on your trip! Amazingly I actually wanted to iron a shirt for once!

Anyway, overall great. Lovely setting, lovely suite, could do with some TLC but nothing that bad.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattbai1ey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This was the 4th time we'd visited and assumed things were to the same excellent level. Booked through their website so didn't see that they were in administration. Upon arrival told that the main house now no longer available and is now private. The Wye House "Suites" are anything but. Suite 16 suffers from the creakiest flooring ever and poor carpeting. More light bulbs were blown than working. Damp and mould around the kitchen power sockets, non functioning dishwasher and a complete mish-mash of kitchen utensils/crockery.

The master bedroom obviously had a kingsize bed in as the replacement double-bed did not cover the marks left by the wall mounted headboard!

The public areas were infested by an array of creatures from the insect and arachnid world

It would be better just to close up shop I think and was really quite a poor visit and a sad end to what was an annual break we all looked forward to in a lovely part of the country.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

It is true this accomodation is no longer 5 star, there are several minor repairs which need attention but this doesn't detract from a very pleasant and comfortable stay. The apartment we stayed in (number 12) was large, very well furnished, lovely kitchen and bathroom. We only stayed for a night but it was preferrable to any of the other family rooms that were available in Buxton on the internet. The apartment was quiet, apart from the squeeky floor boards but they didn't wake a 2 year old, the TV remotes didn't work despite new batteries but the apartment was clean. The patio doors took a while to close, but from outside with a little bit of encouragement at the bottom and then climbing in the bedroom window worked!!! We would stay here again and recommend to a friend, you just need to gloss over the imperfections.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We have visited the Chateau & Wye four times now and have had a lovely stay every time, in different apartments. The apartments are very smart though could do with some minor work - little bits here & there are in need of fixing. But if you can look past this, the apartments are clean, with big rooms, comfy sofas & large tvs. Dale who works at Wye House always does a great job of looking after us, recommending places to visit and assisting whenever we have any questions, making sure we are comfortable and have a pleasant stay.

I don't believe it is possible to stay in the Chateau itself, but the views from some of the apartments are wonderful - the grounds and particularly the fountain are lovely, especially in the good weather when you can sit outside & enjoy the surroundings. Even on cooler days it is nice to open the balcony doors and look out over everything. Definitely one of the nicest spots in Buxton to stay! In fact, I'm not sure we would consider staying anywhere else in this area!

The location is just fantastic - very easy to walk into town (it takes about 10 minutes) where there are lots of nice bars and restaurants. The Opera House is very close too as are the gorgeous Pavilion Gardens. There are also lots of fantastic attractions just a short car journey away - we would definitely recommend the Chestnut Centre where you can see deer, otters, owls, and have a lovely walk. Also the caves are spectacular, as is Chatsworth.

If you are looking for a relaxed holiday, in a lovely area with lots of exciting places to visit right on your doorstep, we would certainly recommend Wye House!

We are looking forward to visiting again soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a penthouse apartment looking over the gardens!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseAltonofYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Myself and husband just stayed in the 3 bedroom penthouse apartment for two nights, sadly we were disappointed. Although upon arrival we were told that the company has gone into administration but we still expected to stay in adequate facilities that you would expect for the price. The apartment's kitchen wasn't clean with dirty glasses, coffee spilt on the floor and cobwebs left hanging. The dishwasher wasn't in use but no washing up liquid provided. The patio doors didn't shut fully so had to be left unsecure all night. The carpet in the lounge was dirty. No hand wash provided in bathrooms. Much to my disgust - a huge box of empty used beer bottles left in kitchen cupboards! There is no Wi Fi at the apartments and the bar is boarded up. Overall the property seemed neglected and much needed a lick of paint and a good clean. It is a shame as these apartments could be lovely if they were just maintained properly by management!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ritarabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews