We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of New House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jarecki G
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Perfect location, perfect place for kids, lots of walks, very nice garden well equipped kitchen
We had great time at the New House
Thank You

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsam2014
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Idyllic house - Monty was the highlight!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I stayed at New House with my family during a trip to Wales for a workshop. New House is set in an idyllic location on the side of a beautiful rural valley. The house has been renovated to a very high standard and very tastefully decorated. I disagree with the previous reviewer and found that Monty the cat made the holiday for us, he is a sweet, friendly, and smart cat who greeted us on arrival and made it feel like home, he only came into the house itself when invited and was happy snoozing in the porch or roaming the garden. Keep Monty! Only small niggles was the hot water/ shower which we had trouble operating & toilet base being a bit rocky, although to be fair as we were there for only three days we didn't call Richard to ask him to fix these issues. We all thoroughly enjoyed the holiday there though, a lovely house, friendly welcome and a slice of rural Welsh life. Would recommend.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munc84
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Home from home with dear Monty [the cat]”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

First of all we have to state that Monty, the New House cat, was one of the sweetest , gentlest cats you could meet and made us feel very much at home . His friendly greeting when we got back from a full day out and about was very welcoming and his manners were impeccable. You are warned about him when booking and it is easy to exclude him from areas you don't want him, using common sense.

Our family loved our stay at the New House , it's overall ambience is lovely with quality appliances and furnishings .One or two of the niggles mentioned in "Andy mag" review are there but the owner does state that he is available at the end of a phone, if you really can't cope!

Don't let it put you off , all of our party [ both the young adults and the more mature] said that they would happily live in such a splendid house in such a wonderful spot.The owners have worked hard to provide overall top notch facilities inside and out at good value.

KEEP Monty Richard !! Dear visitors, remember to take a pack of "Dreamies" with you ....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the quality of the house
Liked least: lack of instruction manuals for appliances
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyMag20...
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“OK but lots of room for improvement”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I originally gave this feedback directly to the owner to give chance for a response, however they are clearly not interested as a week later there has been no reply. It only seems right then that I share my feedback with fellow travellers as there are many points to consider when booking this accommodation.

• Firstly, the kitchen was wonderful. Perfectly appointed with plenty of room and the bonus of the conservatory. Although a grill pan and a non stick saucepan would have been nice.
• The living room was really comfy and the log burner looks wonderful. Made us all long for a cold autumn evening…
• The Sonos system, all be it very clever, was no use to us as we all arrived with various MP3 players expecting there to be a docking station or at least somewhere to plug in as we had our own cables.
• Having to go upstairs to change the TV channel was madness. Once the couple in that room had retired for the evening we were unable to control the TV.
• The shower drove us crazy as to get it going is not as easy as just turning it on. There needs to be an instruction to start the shower on the coldest setting as the auto valve stays fully open (hot only) until it warms up. As there is no gravity feed from the hot tank the pump does not come on without much adjustment and a burst of cold water.
• The toilet was not fixed to the floor which in turn caused us all concern at quite the wrong moment. Nor was the seat and lid fixed properly which came off each time.
• One toilet between 6 adults is not practical
• The lack of any hanging space was disappointing. We all wanted to hang our clothes somewhere. Not everything can stay folded.

• The slab outside the conservatory patio door is loose and dangerous.
• The camp fire should better be described as a 10 minute walk from the house. We were all looking forward to the camp fire but the less able in the group were unable to make the journey.
• Walking on the large stones to the camp fire is down right dangerous. One of our party took a tumble on the loose stones and was so badly bruised and battered that they are still in some considerable discomfort 2 weeks on. If the top gate had been open with access available across the trenches by the barn, life would have been so much easier.

• By far the biggest irritation was the wretched cat! You state in the welcome pack that he should not be left in the property as is not house trained. Countless times, he snuck in while we were in the garden, only to be found on the beds, or the kitchen surfaces, or on the sofa, or anywhere he could. It is crazy to have to keep all the doors and windows closed while we are in, just to keep him out. Both on Friday night and twice on Saturday night he kept us awake, howling outside the window. The whole house was again awoken twice when he got in through upstairs windows, knocking everything off the window sill with a right clatter and then paced up and down the landing howling. Bearing in mind this is a stray farm cat, your guests should not be put at risk by whatever dirt or diseases he might be carrying in from the fields, onto the beds and food preparation areas. If the cat is a compulsory part of the accommodation, you should make it known in your advert as not everyone likes cats, especially strays that have not been immunised, neutered or wearing a flea collar. Get rid of the cat!

The location was lovely and the BBQ great. A really comfy place to be with a nice colour scheme, just let down by the holes around the sockets and switches, unfinished skirting and some poor decorating.

The odd niggle is expected with this kind of rental but I would only recommend this accommodation if these issues were addressed because collectively they spoiled the vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loz T
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great House, Great Location”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great weekend stay, the house had everything we needed and more!
Everything was set up and ready to use from the BBQ to the campfire. The campfire is a must, we had a great time sat round it. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 112
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing