We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great House, Great Location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of New House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Loz T
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great House, Great Location”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great weekend stay, the house had everything we needed and more!
Everything was set up and ready to use from the BBQ to the campfire. The campfire is a must, we had a great time sat round it. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPCoetzee
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely house in perfect location”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We woke in the morning to the sound of birdsong and the bubbling stream, and opened the curtains to lush green hills and blue skies, with buzzards circling above.

The location is perfect, close to the A470 but far enough away to be able to not hear cars. The owner had thoughtfully provided tea and coffee and some fresh fruit, and even some food for Monty the chunky farm cat.

The house has only recently been lovingly restored to an excellent standard but needs a couple of little tweaks to be perfect (bathroom door doesn't lock easily, bedroom door latches spring open, hot water fiddly) or I would have given 5 stars. Regardless, we have excitedly told friends and will be booking for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The hot water
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrpharms
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We visited in June 2014 and all I can say is what a great place to stay. The location was fantastic with great views. You couldn't ask for much more with the amenities of the property. I have already started recommending the place to family and friends and we will definitely be making a return visit in the near future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whirldytr...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well equipped house in stunning location.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed for half term with our children (aged 9 & 11) and their cousin (aged 10). The house was amazingly well equipped - all mod cons, plus thoughtful touches like a cupboard full of board games. The kids spent hours playing in the large garden, and were especially pleased with the stream that runs at the bottom. The location is beautiful - very rural Wales - with sheep studded on the steep hills around the house. We would thoroughly recommend this house for families of for a romantic getaway (there is a lovely, cosy wood burner in the living room).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire P
Gloucestershire
2 reviews
“Lovely house in amazing setting, would definitely stay here again!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We've had a perfect bank holiday stay here. The house is really lovely, well equipped and really clean, with amazing views. As previous review said, it feels more like a home than a rental. The children loved being able to play in the stream at the bottom of the garden, they are 11,9 and 6, and it was safe enough for us to feel that we could leave them to go off exploring without us. The huge garden was also great for them to play football, frisbee, etc in, there were also some board games for us to use.
We went for a lovely walk behind the house, following the stream. Also found a craft centre and river walk just down the road. The house is perfectly situated for exploring the mountains, and is not too far from Llangorse lake outdoor activity centre. We felt totally secluded even though we weren't too far from civilisation! We sat out when it was dark and the night sky was amazing! No light pollution, I've never seen so many stars.
We couldn't help but relax while staying here, and would definitely rent this house again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and style of house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing