We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
156
128
40
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
128
40
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle view chepstow castle opposite the castle garden room pay and display honesty bar car park creaking floorboards old building tourist information lovely garden separate building friendly hosts town centre original features cooked breakfast a great nights sleep
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017

This was our first night's stay and we were not disappointed. The rooms were well appointed and quiet. The breakfast has a very interesting range of choices suiting a number of dietary requirements. This was all served to the highest standard and was one of the best places we stayed on our 12 day hike - thank you to the manager and staff who made our stay so welcoming!

Room Tip: Conveniently situated to the Local Tourist Information office and Bus terminal too.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, we stayed in room 9 which was beautiful, it has its own staircase so felt self contained. It has a sitting area and separate bedroom with lovely views of the castle.
I was a little concerned about the 1 star for food hygiene however the breakfasts we had were delicious, they have been rated again but haven't recieved the new certificate yet so have to keep the 1 star on display!
Michael the owner welcomed us upon our arrival and was very helpful and informative. They have an honesty bar in the evening which is good and the bar itself is very relaxing. The staff are all very nice and helpful, I would not hesitate in recommending this charming little place and hope to visit again in the future.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Banana88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

The staff we're great and the building is filled with historic character, particularly the downstairs lounge area. Rooms themselves had standard amenities but the furnishings were a little worn and could be updated. Fine for a quick stopover. Fantastic breakfast selection, including full English and Vegetarian options.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k8reeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Clean hotel, but there is no elevator so if you have a room on the upper floor, travel light. Very friendly and helpful service and staff. Right across the street from the castle and close to shops if you need something.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohntheLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Across from the castle is this old inn. The place has retained much of its yesteryear charm with the necessary updates. A beautiful garden out back too! Service was great and helpful. For the older less mobile traveller the stairs might be a challenge, but the offer was made to bring our bags up to the room.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews