We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking Offa's Dyke in August 2017”
Review of Castle View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle View
Ranked #5 of 14 Chepstow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2017

This was our first night's stay and we were not disappointed. The rooms were well appointed and quiet. The breakfast has a very interesting range of choices suiting a number of dietary requirements. This was all served to the highest standard and was one of the best places we stayed on our 12 day hike - thank you to the manager and staff who made our stay so welcoming!

Room Tip: Conveniently situated to the Local Tourist Information office and Bus terminal too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Audrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, we stayed in room 9 which was beautiful, it has its own staircase so felt self contained. It has a sitting area and separate bedroom with lovely views of the castle.
I was a little concerned about the 1 star for food hygiene however the breakfasts we had were delicious, they have been rated again but haven't recieved the new certificate yet so have to keep the 1 star on display!
Michael the owner welcomed us upon our arrival and was very helpful and informative. They have an honesty bar in the evening which is good and the bar itself is very relaxing. The staff are all very nice and helpful, I would not hesitate in recommending this charming little place and hope to visit again in the future.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Banana88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

The staff we're great and the building is filled with historic character, particularly the downstairs lounge area. Rooms themselves had standard amenities but the furnishings were a little worn and could be updated. Fine for a quick stopover. Fantastic breakfast selection, including full English and Vegetarian options.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k8reeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Clean hotel, but there is no elevator so if you have a room on the upper floor, travel light. Very friendly and helpful service and staff. Right across the street from the castle and close to shops if you need something.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohntheLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Across from the castle is this old inn. The place has retained much of its yesteryear charm with the necessary updates. A beautiful garden out back too! Service was great and helpful. For the older less mobile traveller the stairs might be a challenge, but the offer was made to bring our bags up to the room.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chepstow hotels
4.2 km away
St. Pierre Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.3 km away
Beaufort Hotel - Chepstow
0.2 km away
The First Hurdle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Coach and Horses Inn
Coach and Horses Inn
#7 of 14 in Chepstow
47 reviews
1.1 km away
Two Rivers
Two Rivers
#4 of 14 in Chepstow
227 reviews
0.0 km away
Three Tuns Chepstow
Three Tuns Chepstow
#6 of 14 in Chepstow
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle View? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle View

Address: View Bed & Breakfast 16 Bridge Street, Chepstow NP16 5EZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Monmouthshire > Chepstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Chepstow
Price Range: ₹ 5,587 - ₹ 8,266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle View 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established 1648 This Ivy Clad Coaching Inn sits directly opposite Britains Oldest Stone-Built Castle. Chepstow, a small border town resting next to the River Wye is a Must Visit destination if History, Horse Racing, Cycling, Walking or Live Music are amongst your interests. The Town boasts a variety of Drinking & Eating Venues and if your Staying the Weekend Our Sunday Roasts are not to be missed! 14 En-Suite Bedrooms share features of the Original Building 'Woodfield House'. Inlcuding Wall Murals and Exposed Oak Beams, unrivalled Castle Views & A Hand-Turned Oak stairwell that spirals you crookedly to the second floor or walk through our Listed Stain Glass Door and discover our secluded garden ablaze with colour during the summer, our tranquil fountain and pond, and our marquee Perfect for Drinks on a Summers Evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Castle View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle View Chepstow, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing