We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (344)
Filter reviews
344 results
Traveller rating
153
125
40
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
125
40
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscastle viewchepstow castleopposite the castlegarden roomhonesty barpay and displaycharming placecar parkcreaking floorboardstourist informationold buildinglovely gardenseparate buildingsunday roasttown centreoriginal featurescooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 344 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Small, friendly and charming building a stones throw from the Castle. It's age does mean it's a rather quirky establishment with tiny narrow stairs and doors. Very warm welcome on arrival.
Room was tired and in need of some TLC but more than adequate for our needs. Lovely fresh white bedding although some of the towels need replacing. The floor was "undulating" in places that made for an eventful trip to the bathroom in the middle of the night.
Breakfast was freshly cooked and tasty using good quality products. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank BARANJO5452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Lying opposite the magnificent castle and beside the sleepy river this is a step away from Offa's Dyke and if you're looking for Comfort, convenience and good service from competent and helpful staff, Castle View fits the bill.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank maryDyffrynArdudwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Visited for Sunday Lunch,As we were a large party we were asked to pre-order are roasts,(which was a very good idea).On entering the Castle we found it nice and relaxing,and the two members of staff were helpfull.We booked for 1pm and our meals were ready for that time.We all had different roasts,and I must say they were all of a high standard.The 35 day sirloin was lovely and plenty of it,The two members of staff also served at the tables and done a first class job,as they also served the other guests as well.I would strongly recommend the Castle,and will be returning again.

Room Tip: lunch only
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Nice old building and staff very friendly, the breakfasts are good and location is excellent. There is no free parking but the car park directly opposite is only £4 for 24 hours. They have a bar which is very comfortable but sadly they don't make the most of it and is shut most of the time to none residents. However they have an "honesty pot" for residents whereby you can serve yourself and just mark down what you have had which is a really nice touch.
The room was spacious and clean enough but I don't really like the sheet under the duvet as I get a feeling that the cover on the duvet does not probably get changed after every guest, so I then spend the night trying to keep the sheet between myself and the duvet. The bathroom was looking a bit dated and in need of new decoration, the shower was adequate.

Our biggest concern was the way we were not put in the main building but instead we were in an annex type granny flat some 45m from the main building.
This wasn't made clear when booking and one of the main reasons for booking this hotel was because of its historic value. Our actual accommodation was a new build with very thin walls and creaking floorboards from the people in the room above us.
I feel this is slightly verging on false advertising as everything I read about the rooms and the premises is about the main building which is actually quite lovely and which is what I thought we were getting due to the description.
This should be made a lot clearer at time of booking as we simply would not have booked this hotel if we had known.
Don't get me wrong the annex is quite nice and set in lovely gardens and some people may prefer this but the choice should be with the guests. We personally don't like going outside of the main building to get to our room as it doesn't make you feel part of that hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main building, unless you don't mind being in an annex some 45m from the hotel itself.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank roma0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Spent one night at this B&B. The staff were friendly and very welcoming. Sadly, we had to complain about our room within ten minutes of arrival because the carpet was absolutely covered in dog hair. This is a pet friendly hotel, but it's no excuse. When we asked for the room to be hovered whilst we were at dinner, they did so and it was much improved when we got back. The bed was comfy and we slept well. The bathroom needed some repairs but was clean and we had a lovely hot shower.
Slightly more worrying is the food hygiene rating sticker that is in their window. It's only a 1, which is the lowest standard that requires urgent improvement. Certainly not the best advert for any establishment. The nearest pub up the road also have a fairly low rating with a 3 so we kept walking until we found something better.
Breakfast was fine but our disappointment continued when the castle was shut for no apparent reason. Clearly this isn't the fault of the B&B but it was the only reason we were in the area!..

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JBerris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews