We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Marriott Hotels$140
Expedia.com$140
Hotels.com$140
Priceline$140
Travelocity$140
Trip.com$140
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,834)
Filter reviews
1,834 results
Traveller rating
622
625
354
151
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
622
625
354
151
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course lakeside village main building trophy bar leisure facilities play golf steam room junior suite golf break leisure club manor house lovely grounds cast iron buffet style both nights weekend break spa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,715 - 1,720 of 1,834 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2010

I turned up at this hotel with no reservation, quite late at night and somewhat distressed after a grim experience in another local hotel. I was smitten as I drove up the long, elegant, tree lined drive and pulled up to the lovely old country house courtyard. The receptionist was extremely helpful and found me a room at a reasonable rate, despite the fact the hotel was almost full with a large conference and was generally very calming and helpful. The room was in a village style annexe and was large, luxurious and very clean with a sumptuous bed. Huge flat screen TV and private patio. Bathroom was clean and spacious if a little plain. The restaurant was already closed but room service delivered a sandwich and wine very quickly and was polite.
The golf course looks amazing and I had a really peaceful night with a quick dip in the pool first thing and a good breakfast. Staff in the restaurant were plentiful and courteous despite it being very busy. I will definitely visit again

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollycane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We stayed here on a Marriott package of 3 days B&B, with a CADW explorer pass and a packed lunch one day. It was excellent value but we were in a 1 bedroom suite in the Lakeland Village. This sounds nice but it was a first floor room in a "house" with three or four rooms. There are twelve of these "houses" in the village with only three of them with lakes views. Needless to say we didn't get a lake view but every floor board in the place creaked and the bathroom needed updating. That said the main hotel was stunning, as was the church and grounds. The breakfast was plentiful, with a a good variety of food, both hot and cold. The leisure centre, although a little small, was good and free and the kids loved the pool. The one major niggle was the lack of free wi-fi anywhere in the hotel. You had to pay £15 a day for internet access or £3 for 15 minutes. For a 4* hotel I would expect that to be free or at the very least free wi-fi in the reception area.
Overall I would say the main hotel looked a 4* (didn't see the rooms so can't comment on them) but the lakeland village rooms were only really 3*.
Chepstow was nice, with a tasy, if a little pricey, Italian restaurant, and the castles in the area are amazing, although Cardiff will charge you over £30 for a family just to have a look around. We just stuck with the CADW explorer pass sites and that was fine for us.

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BazzaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We stayed at St Pierre on our outward and return journies from Devon and Cornwall.On both occasions we stayed in Tulip Cottage in the Courtyard.The Staff were all extremely helpful,Kirsty Ferguson even taking timeout on a busy period to take us to the Cottage to ensure that we were happy with everything.The Cottage was beautiful,very clean and cosy.The Meals were excellent,well presented and large portions.The location is superb,walks,flower beds outside the cottages,even a little church.We could not fault this hotel and will return,incidentally Marriot offer a discount to OAPs,we were not asked to prove our age,never mind we all get older!!!

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derbydiner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 August 2010

St Pierre always impresses as you arrive, with its lovely old buildings and church. Our room was in the Lakeside village, a bland development of 'houses' each comprising about 3 guest rooms. The rooms are comfy enough, but not very soundproofed. The bathroom was incredibly hot, with a heated towel rail that couldn't be turned off, or even down. Breakfast was OK, served buffet style. We didn't eat in the 'posh' restaurant, but the prices in the bistro were scary enough. Drinks are very overpriced, reflecting the captive audience, I suppose, but I felt £8 for a pint of cider and a fruit juice and £22 for the cheapest bottle of wine was exorbitant for Chepstow. My husband really enjoyed his round of golf on the Old course, which he said was in a lovely condition. The leisure centre could do with a makeover - peeling paint spoiled the feeling that you are staying in a luxury hotel. I would also have expected free WIFI in a hotel of this stature. Staff were all very friendly and attentive, and mainly local which made a refreshing change. We also really enjoyed visiting Chepstow (10 mins by car) and the Cardiff Bay area (about 30 mins away)

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 August 2010

we stayed for two nights sunday and monday in a standard room booked on our tesco clubcard vouchers.from making the reservation with central reservations we were not made to feel like second class citizens even though really we were paying for the stay on points earned in tescos. the request we had made for extra pillows a king size bed and a quiet room had all been accomodated.
Kirsty on check in was pleasant friedly and very effiecient. we had a ground floor room overlooking a prt of the golf course. super king bed flat screen tele, it was comfortable and inviting. the feather down matress topper was fantastic a real treat. so we had a great sleep. only down side , cheap toilet paper, towels not very fluffy, housekeeping standards especially in the bathroom need some attention. bathrobes would be a nice touch.
we ventured into the zest bar both nights we stayed. with very small expectations as far as quality and variety, i manage a fine dining michelin star restaurant and so was just looking to chill out away formt he stresses of work. well we found a great welcome before us. joe and dan as well as sarah were fantatsic, nothing was too much trouble even with a wedding in full swing next door. we ordered a simple chicken ceasar salad, hand cut chips and garlic breads.
all came and were delicious, the chicken moist, well dressed salad, hot fresh chips etc etc. we were just blown away thinking it would be run of the mill overpriced food, well not this time. I would agree with other guests that £21 for house wine is a good £5 more than it should be, but the selection of european beers made up for the wine.

Breakfast was nice, well presented fresh selection, with an ala carte menu available for those looking for that something extra special.

The poolside was great, clean, relaxing. My wife had one of the best facials she has eve had using a new range of products form dr Murad. the 60 miutes facial was only £50 an absolute bargain, we have stayed at hotels that would charge double that price. Rachel or rebecca was the beautican, very knowlegable, friendly and not pushy for the sale.

We visited a couple of vineyards in thearea as well as tasting some local cheeses.
overall i applaude all the staff and management for creating a relaxing,calm atmosphere fr your staff to shine. well done

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelinspector1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews