We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Time at the Pend - Beautiful Home in beautiful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pend

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunkeld
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Pend
Ranked #3 of 6 Dunkeld B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Time at the Pend - Beautiful Home in beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We have just had a fantastic stay at The Pend. We liked it so much we tried to stay for an extra night but unfortunately Peter was fully booked. We'd wholeheartedly recommend a stay here and hope to go back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    9
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
20
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

My husband and I have just had a fantastic weekend stay at The Pend where we were welcomed by Peter, Molly and Brydie. The rooms were spotless and nicely decorated, and the location is perfect for fantastic restaurants, STUNNING walks, a wonderful deli, and LOADS of activities. Peter was exceptionally helpful and kind: my husband and I tried to book a taxi to take us somewhere 10 miles away but all taxis were fully booked so he drove us there and would not take any money. Every morning we indulged in one of Peters wonderful breakfasts - YUM! Thanks for a wonderful stay, made even more special by the lovely Molly and Brydie.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Andrews, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

The westies and peter were very accommodating, but not intrusive.

Great breakfast, particularly the arbroath smokies.

Bedroom was clean and well appointed with some lovely antiques.

The nearby Indian restaurant is a must for curry lovers too.

Room Tip: The family room is the largest with a double and single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

This is my first time writing on tripadvisor but my husband and I felt we would like to thoroughly recommend The Pend to anyone thinking of spending a few days in Dunkeld. This was a return trip for us and though it had been 5 years The Pend was every bit as good as we remembered it. The location is perfect, very central while still being quiet just 30 seconds on foot up the hill from the main street. There is private parking for residents at the rear of the building and a very warm welcome from the proprietor Peter and his 2 gorgeous westies Mollie and Bridie, they both know their jobs as representatives of the establishment very well and loved showing us round the very nicely decorated and well appointed building. Our room was large with a good size double bed and a single bed, antique furniture and a wash hand basin. There are 2 good size bathrooms which serve 3 bedrooms in close proximity and nice quality robes are provided in the rooms as well as fresh milk in a mini fridge and a very good selection of tea, herbal tea, coffee and hot chocolate as well as some scottish shortbread.
My husband and I had been mentioning the dinner's at The Pend during just about every conversation about great scottish cuisine for the last 5 years after our fabulous meal previously and we weren't disappointed by our experience this time. Three well thought out and well balanced courses and tea or coffee of an extremely high quality. Peter actually only does this now for small parties with adequate advance notice for obvious reasons as he sources and prepares the meals himself. Although the B&B is not licensed there is wine available locally and there is an impressive range of very good vintages available in 'The Scottish Deli' known locally as Menzies of Dunkeld less than a minutes walk away on Atholl Street and more commercially familiar wines available at the local co-op which Peter is happy to open for a very modest corkage.
A full range of breakfast options are available and like with everything at The Pend you get the feeling that quality and service really matter as well as making you feel that you are among friends.
Dunkeld itself is well worth a visit with a very vibrant and friendly atmosphere with live music many nights in the Taybank an other establishments in the area, great walks by the river and a good choice of bistro's and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

My wife and I stayed her for a night as a get away from Edinburgh for the weekend. What a lovely, welcoming place. We had a really nice, big room on the first floor that was very quiet and awoke to the smell of a fresh breakfast.

We spent the day wondering around the sights of Dunkeld and a great night in the Taybank pub, just around the corner. The Pends is ideally positioned for such a day.

The breakfast the next morning was tremendous. Great choice, and really fresh, local produce. The fruit salad that come with the breakfast (at no extra cost) was the biggest I ever seen, and we hardly made a dent in it.

In contrast to another review, I have to say that the highlight of the Pends were the wee westie terriers that made us feel right at home and didn't leave any "little presents"!

All together I would recommend the Pends to anyone passing through this area and looking for a lovely place to stay or for a nice weekend away from Edinburgh or Glasgow.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
0.1 km away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.7 km away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
0.2 km away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 km away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
12.3 km away
Tayside Hotel
Tayside Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
3.1 km away
Letter Farm B&B
Letter Farm B&B
#1 of 6 in Dunkeld
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pend? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pend

Property: The Pend
Address: 5 Brae Street, Dunkeld PH8 0BA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dunkeld
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Pend Dunkeld, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing