We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Breathtaking grounds” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunkeld House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunkeld House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

A beautiful Hotel nestled in the woods outside Perthshire, great service, great room and the surrounding property is a landscape photographers dream. Our room was directly over the employees entrance so there was a little noise when they were leaving but other than that it was a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neilm154976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Delighted you had a great stay and we will have a conversation with our employees about noise levels when vacating the building apologise for this inconvenience.
Regards Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    700
    380
    192
    78
See reviews for
377
1,197
29
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirknewton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Wonderful location with great service who made us (family with baby) feel very welcome & special. Great for relaxing weekend, lovely walks all around and excellent dinning experience in restaurant. Will definitely be going back soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveHK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased to read that you had a fantastic stay and the staff made your stay enjoyable. It’s such a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtonhill, Scotland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

It's around 7 years since we were last in this hotel and we were really looking forward to returning as we enjoyed our last visit so much. The grounds of the hotel are as good as you could hope to find anywhere in the world and from the outside the hotel looks very nice. The reception area is very cramped and extremely tired looking compared to what we remembered so not a good first impression of the inside. We booked a deluxe double room overlooking the River Tay and were a little disappointed with the size of the room. However, the bed was one of the most comfortable beds we've had in a hotel. Like the reception area, the room decor was a bit tired and there was black mould on the patio door frame.

Wifi was free in the reception area but service was very intermittent. If you wanted wifi in your room the price was a disgrace. Using 3G was a non-starter for O2 users as there is very little or no reception in or around the hotel.

We booked dinner bed and breakfast and the standard of food was very good. The staff were very friendly but there seemed to be a distinct lack of supervision (no one seemed to be in charge of the dining room) and the young waiting staff did not seem to have been trained properly. Bascis like serving female guests first were lacking and we were left to pour our own wine. At £35 for a bottle of Prosecco I would have hoped the wine waiter would have been a bit more attentive! During our second evening meal one couple walked out of the dining room after giving the waitress a real lecture on how bad the service was, telling her they were going to get room service instead. We also saw another couple where the man's meal was wrong, and rather than taking both plates away, the lady's meal was left in front of her which she ended up eating on her own as her partner's meal took over 15 minutes to arrive. Not once were they approached by a senior member of staff and we belive that no apology was forthcoming when it eventually arrived. Not what you expect from a 4 star establishment.

It's a shame there were a few negative points during our stay, but a bit more staff direction and some freshening up the interior would make a huge difference to the Hilton Dunkeld House as it has the potential to be a really special hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rush2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
On a positive note we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful estate, had a peaceful night’s sleep and experienced good food in our garden restaurant. Your constructive criticism regarding team members in our restaurant has been highlighted to our food and beverage management and training will be undertaken to rectify this. Our deluxe rooms are not larger than our standard rooms and if a larger room is required for future a suite would maybe more suitable for your stay. We do hope you will return and we will look forward to welcoming you.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

If you want a shiny plastic covered hotel, don't go to the Hilton. But if you want the a stunning location, accommodation with historic character and don't want to borrow off Angela Merkel the Dunkeld Hilton is for you. There may be more to a vacation than a carpet held down with tape.

Room Tip: River view, upstairs with balcony way from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for comparative description of our hotel and we are pleased you enjoyed the country house hotel accommodation we provide.
Regards Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed at the Dunkeld Hilton for three nights. The location is absolutely amazing, right on the river Tay surrounded by woodland and about 20/30 minutes walk into Dunkeld Village. We were booked into a suite as it was the only dog friendly room available at the time of booking. Our suite turned out to be half a little cottage in the grounds, which was perfect canine accommodation. We had our own front door and porch for muddy boots, sitting room, separate bedroom and bathroom. The décor was nothing like the suites pictured on the website, the furniture had seen better days and there was no fridge (the shabbiness was probably why the place was considered dog friendly!).

The cottage could have done with a proper clean. There were cobwebs in the bathroom and the windows at the back of the property hadn’t been touched in months with black mould all over the frames. We had flat screen TV in both the sitting room and the bedroom and hoped to watch a film one evening but the on-demand movies didn’t work in the cottage. After a visit to reception and several phone calls we established it was a long-standing problem that the service manager was aware of. A simple notice in the room to that effect would have save a lot of time and bother. We were offered a DVD player but the only films the hotel had were for children parties.

The food was delicious but make sure you book a table at the edge of the dining room. We were in the middle of the restaurant on our first night and it was like being sat in the central reservation of the motorway with staff rushing either side of our little table. We did get the impression that the staff were still ‘in training’ and a bit unsure of what to do.

That all said we had a wonderful stay and would go back as the amazing location and lovely food out weighed the grubby room, lack lustre service and high price.

PS visit the Taybank in Dunkeld - great pub!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKMandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanmacdonald, Guest Relations Manager at Dunkeld House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for the constructive review. We are pleased you overall enjoyed your stay at Hilton Dunkeld, the great location, surrounding and food we delivered. Our housekeeping team apologise for the lack of housekeeping standards in your room and this will be addressed and I have forwarded your thoughts regarding the TV to our executive housekeeper. We are pleased you will return in the future and we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Kindest Regards
Hilton Dunkeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1.6 km away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.5 km away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
16.7 km away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 km away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
16.9 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
25.1 km away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkeld House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkeld House Hotel

Property: Dunkeld House Hotel
Address: Blairgowrie Road, Dunkeld PH8 0HX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dunkeld
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,294 - ₹ 14,669
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkeld House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkeld House is set in its own secluded 280-acre woodland estate in the beautiful Perthshire countryside, on the banks of the River Tay. With a wide range of activities and facilities both within the resort and the local area, it is the perfect getaway whether you are visiting for business or pleasure. The hotel has 98 guest rooms, Livingwell Health Club, [comfort zone] spa and on site activity centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Dunkeld House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dunkeld Perthshire Hotel Dunkeld
Hilton Dunkeld Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing