We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
185
171
53
23
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
171
53
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswoodlands restaurantbeer gardengame piecullen skinkfriendly hotelno lifta bit tireddinner menuthe main streetfirst classwe've stayedbed and breakfasthaggiswell worth a visitcooked breakfastfamily roomwarm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Great. Highly recommend. Staff friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Food was great and plentiful. Room was very clean and comfortable. Will always consider the Royal Dunkeld my first choice when I come back.

Room Tip: I think that the management chose exactly the the room I needed based on what I told them I required. Spot on.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank chilesgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royaldunkeld, Owner at The Royal Dunkeld Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you for a lovely review. We do try hard and welcome feedback. I am so glad we merit another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Had a great time at The Royal Dunkeld Hotel. Staff really friendly and helpful. We went bed and breakfast and the room was nice and the breakfast was good. Room wasn't really modern but I kinda like that . Was quiet and relaxing. Bar attached to the hotel was great and we had lunch and dinner there which was really good. The black pudding scotch egg is a must try it was eggsalant , seriously it was really good. Dog was allowed in the bar area and all other areas of hotel apart from hotel restaurant which is totally understandable. Dunkeld itself is such a nice place. Plenty of great walks for both walkers and dog walkers. Along the river is really beautiful, we walked to Birnam and passed trees that the plaque said were there since Shakespeare times which apparently he visited the Forrest which inspired Macbeth . Anyways Dunkeld has great little shops and is brilliant for a nice little break away from city life. The hotels bar was away to be refurbished and I can only hope that it will still be dog friendly and if so would love to visit again in the near future. Keep up the good work and hopefully see you again soon.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pauldkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royaldunkeld, Manager at The Royal Dunkeld Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We like to think of our hotel as warm and friendly without being modern and cold and it is lovely when guests feel at home when they stay. We do have a very good chef and his team who work very hard maintaining excellent standards. You will have to come back and visit our renovated "traditional" Royal Bar." Many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Staying in Dunkeld for just 1 night to celebrate anniversary. Had made no reservation and decided to check all the menus of the local 'eateries'. Decided that Royal Dunkeld hotel suited both our appetites and prices seemed reasonable. We were seated just before 7pm and noticed most tables were reserved. Within 1/2 hour almost every seat was taken. We opted to share cheesy garlic bread starter and I had a chicken breast stuffed with haggis for main course while my partner opted for gammon which came with both pineapple and egg. We were served fairly quickly and everything was fresh, beautifully cooked and presented and absolutely delicious.
The staff were all very young but coped with a very busy Saturday evening with ease - remaining calm and attentive throughout.
We couldn't resist a dessert - even though we'd cleared our dinner plates. We agreed to share the cheesecake with banoffee sauce with our coffees. (We had seen a lady at the next table being served an enormous slice!) It was clearly homemade - unlike so many restaurants who buy in chilled desserts. Needless to say we ate every crumb!
Almost the best part of the meal was receiving the bill - at £38 for 1 starter, 2 mains, 1 dessert, 2 coffees and 2 soft drinks we were more than happy.
We liked everything about our evening and would definitely return.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royaldunkeld, Owner at The Royal Dunkeld Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you for making the time to write a review. You picked one of the busiest weekends in the year so we are delilghted for you to find the staff calm and attentive when they were so busy. On behalf of the chef we would also like to thank you for positive comments about their efforts. We hope you will come back and visit Dunkeld in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Four of us stayed here recently whilst attending our son's wedding at Dunkeld House and we were all very impressed. The staff are very attentive and nothing is too much trouble for them. We had great breakfasts both mornings and a lovely evening meal on our first night. We will definitely return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mudzerooski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royaldunkeld, Owner at The Royal Dunkeld Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you so much for positive feedback. You stayed in the hotel on one of the busiest weekends of the year so it is great to hear the staff were so attentive when they were so busy. We are delighted you will come back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

First visit to Dunkeld,on Easter Sunday first place we chose to eat.....big sign outside, children welcome, kids menu. We were told by the very miserable waitress that if we wanted our 2 year old to sit in a high chair we would have to sit in the bar rather than the restaurant where everyone was eating. The bar was dark and dingy and full of old men drinking beer. Needless to say we left and went somewhere much nicer down the road!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
6  Thank rrrosielee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royaldunkeld, Owner at The Royal Dunkeld Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

I can assure you that we are child friendly. Dog friendly too! You happened to come in on Easter Sunday when every table was reserved. If it appeared that a table was available it was reserved and awaiting customers. The only table left was next to an exit and you required the high chair which would have blocked the door. We were constrained by health and safety and can only apologise that our offer to seat you in the only alternative was in the bar and that did not suit you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews