We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$ 106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyll Hotel(Dunoon)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 91
US$ 84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 99
US$ 89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Osborne(Dunoon)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Royal Marine(Dunoon)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
US$ 90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbot's Brae(Dunoon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
523 results
Traveller rating
83
179
140
61
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
83
179
140
61
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdavid urquhartclyde viewcheap barcoach driverbus tripentertainment every nightcoach holidayexcellent value for moneybit datedlong weekendstaff were excellentsome tlcbreakfast and dinnera wee bitvisited this hotelgreat weekendtea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 523 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2018

I have never stayed anywhere, where the staff went 101% to help. From the redoubtable Linda who made every problem disappear in an instant, to honest Les the night porter who found our parties "kitty" and put it in the safe. Every single member of staff were smiling helpful and pleasant. As I have said many time I am very picky with food but there was a good variety and some tasty salads. The entertainment went from mediocre to absolutely stunning and if anyone holidaying near Dunoon gets a chance to see the awesome Denny Day go for it!!. Once again the very good value for money David Urqhart nailed it for us and Matt the driver was the best!

Room Tip: It's worth it to pay extra for a view of the Clyde
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Secyfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa l, Manager at Glenmorag Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review will pass your kind comments to the staff. Hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

My sister and l went there for the psychic weekend 27 /4 the hotel was very poor ,we had to have breakfast at 8 am not a choice of time ,Dinner was 6pm ,the food was absolutely awful both dinners were horrendous beef was all gristle potatoes were like rocks think that's enough said about food ,The entertainment was a joke Jane Dawson language was disrespectful and disgusting ,we left on the Saturday evening as it was a load of rubbish and both evening only lasted 1hour ,the shower in our room above the bath when turned on just hit the end of the wall as the shower head would not flick down so floor and wash basin towels were all soaked ,needless to say we will not be back

Room Tip: I don't think this hotel is quiet as every single floor board squeaked beyond believe ,the room above us was horrendous l never slept
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Just spent 5 day coach trip with David Urquart to Glenmorag Hotel. While the Hotel could do with updating and improvement, the staff both in reception and dining room were excellent ,nothing was too much trouble,they were courteous and hard working. The meals were tasty and served hot ,good system of preordering evening meal at breakfast. Bar staff also excellent and entertainment every night was acceptable. Excursions interesting and well planned,scenery around is stunning, the journey and excursions were made much better by the wonderful coach driver ...Nigel ,he was a fountain of knowledge about the history of areas,and informed us of interesting facts, much appreciated. All in all a good break.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank brenda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa l, Manager at Glenmorag Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review, I will pass comments on to staff. Pleased you had a good break and hopefully you will return in the future.
Kind Regards
Lisa Ly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

Just got home after a wonderful 5 days 4 nights stay at the Glenmorag hotel. We had travelled with David Urquhart and were lucky enough to have a driver called Nigel who played a massive part in making the trip successful.
My wife and I had taken her parents with us we paid £2 each per night for a room with a view the in-laws refused to pay it. A decision they regretted whilst our room over looked the Clyde their room looked over a muddy bank and with only 1 window their room was very uninviting.
The hotel is in need a long overdue revamp. The decor desperately needs updating as does the furniture and carpeting.
Our bedroom surreted from a lack of power points with only 2 outlets 1 for the kettle and the other 1 for the very ancient television. The bed felt lumpy but was surprising comfortable, we were disturbed by other guests in the rooms on each side who had the volume too high while watching the TV. The night porter was extremely noisy whilst collecting the suitcases left out in the corridors to be delivered to the departing coaches. Next time chaps talk to each other in a whisper and let the guests sleep.
I was disappointed with the breakfast every egg was hard enough to hammer nails in, I even tried a poached egg and that also arrived like a yellow marble, the bacon was crisp, sausage was ok, fried bread was that crisp it was impossible to get a fork into it. The option of a fried tomato was not enough to substitute the total lack of beans at breakfast. I suspect that butter is on the endangered list in Scotland as you were given 1 little piece each for the toast and requesting more butter brings 1 more little portion. Evening meal was excellent with a very good choice and each was perfectly prepared and presented.
The staff were very very pleasant and helpful and I heard no complaints from any of our fellow travellers, and I believe every guest placed a tip within the tip box located near the dining room door.
Overall a brilliant value for money holiday with an excellent base and tour guide.
The only downside was the 9 hours spent traveling up to Dunoon.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
6  Thank picko1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M, Manager at Glenmorag Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. Have taken notice of your negative comments and these have hopefully been resolved.
Hope you will return in the future.
Kind Regards
Tim McClure
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Just had 5 days with David urgart.
Hotel very tired but lovely clean towel every day and and tea & coffee replenished each day we had beautiful clyed views. And the staff were amazing though out the hotel even went out and got us a birthday cake for our friend we were so impressed and the hotel should be very proud of them, because of our journey home we would not return with David urgart.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank janemick123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M, Manager at Glenmorag Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we pride ourselves on having very good staff thank you for your kind comments.
Kind Regards
Tim McClure
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews