We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning cabin”
other travellers have booked this property
Ruskin Lodge, surrounded by nature
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ruskin Lodge, surrounded by nature
New (2018) kitchen with induction hob, steam oven, dishwasher and quality pots, pans and utensils. Living room with new leather sofas, large TV, stove-style electric heater and picture frame windows.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Ruskin Lodge, surrounded by nature
New (2018) kitchen with induction hob, steam oven, dishwasher and quality pots, pans and utensils.
Living room with new leather sofas, large TV, stove-style electric heater and picture frame windows.
Bedroom 1: Master bedroom with king-sized bed, wardrobe, chest of drawers & wash hand basin.
Bedroom 2: With king-sized bed, wardrobe & chest of drawers.
Bedroom 3: Can be made into a twin, double or study. Wardrobe, chest of drawers, bunting optional!
The kitchen has an alcove dining area suitable for 6.
View from the kitchen.
Bathroom with bath, electric shower & super-soft hotel quality towels.
Covered and gated veranda to take in the surroundings
Big enough for 6, cosy enough for 2!
Red squirrels are regular visitors to the veranda - so long as there are some nuts out!
There is plenty of space to play.
Your pinic spot in front of the lodge.
The Holy Loch is just 5 minutes drive away
Boats on the Holy Loch
Argyll Forest surrounds you
View towards the lodge from Benmore Botanic Gardens
Ruskin Lodge is an idyllic escape
A nice spot to rest your head!
Fishing in Argyll - Picture Credit : Paul Tomkins / VisitScotland
Nature is everywhere!
Local seafood! Seafood platter by Ben Brown via Flickr
Glen Massan is just a 10 minute drive away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
h0ward78
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning cabin”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I booked this gorgeous log for my family of 4 boys and golden retriever. The cabin is absolutely stunning, you couldn't ask for more. The beds are amazing. All you could ever ask for and more, the owner really does go the extra mile. All my boys ranging from 3-15 said mum done well, they loved it and we actually ended up staying longer. Cant wait to go back, highly recommend x x x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Just wanted to say thank you for your review! So glad your boys all enjoyed the holiday and you got their 'thumbs up' - you are welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah O
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic lodge and location”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at Ruskin Lodge for a long weekend - two couples, one baby and one dog. Finding places that accept dogs and are near walking trails etc are hard to find - but Ruskin Lodge was perfect. The Lodge itself is well maintained and comes with all the mod cons, and the welcome basket left by the owner was a really nice touch. The bedrooms are generous and comfortable and we couldn't have asked for more. There is a shop nearby and lots of outdoor activities, walks etc, but we didn't end up venturing far as it was too nice sitting on the wee deck enjoying the surroundings and sun! We will definitely book there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The patio/deck area
Liked least: Nothing - everything was great
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
So glad you all enjoyed your stay at the lodge. We try to make it as family and pet friendly as possible so hearing that you had a good time is just brilliant!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLANDSC...
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful home from home relaxing retreat.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Went here for a couple of days and loved it that much came back next weekend! Abigail has done a wonderful job and this accommodation has everything you need and more. The lodge is so so cosy and in a fantastic location for everything whether it be walking or a visit to the nearby town centre. The slightest detail has been thought of even electronic blankets for chilly nights. Can't wait to come back to enjoy again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Just wanted to say thank you for taking the time to review our lodge - it means so much to hear that guests have had a good holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BogsideBu...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable and clean - fantastic lodge in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed with another couple at this lovely, newly renovated Scandinavian-style lodge for a weekend. Wish it could have been longer! The lodge is set in the beautiful, tranquil surroundings of Argyll Forest Park and beside Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park. The magical, riverside Puck's Glen walk starts right outside the door, our dog thought he was in paradise. There are three decent sized bedrooms with super comfy beds and excellent quality sheets and towels. The large, well equipped kitchen also has a washing machine and a lovely little eating inshot which we used both at breakfast and evening meals. The bathroom has both a shower and a bath for soaking tired muscles after a day's walking. From the cosy living room there's a picture window where we saw jays and a red squirrel - all from the comfort of the sofa! There's also a flat screen TV and a DVD player with a selection of films (or you could bring your own favourites), a great asset if the infamous Argyll rains switches on. Didn't get the opportunity (as it was a bit chilly) to use the private deck and outdoor seating area but as we shall be returning next year when the weather is warmer, we fully intend to do just that. If you want to keep in touch with the outside world, the Wifi connection is fast and reliable. Friendly Dunoon's just a ten minute drive away with all the shops and supermarkets you need. We also had a wonderful lunch at the Coylet Inn (another ten minute drive in the opposite direction) and visited the spectacular Benmore Botanic Garden, which you can easily walk to from the lodge. There seems to be lots of organised outdoor activities on land and water nearby for those who are bit more energetic. I couldn't recommend this property highly enough, we shall definitely be back again soon and that says it all really.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2013
Thank you so much for your review! So glad you liked the lodge and area and hope we can welcome you back sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorrisonT...
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“Cousy, quiet and confortable cabin!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My girl and me just arrived home after having spent 3 nights at Ruskin lodge. What to say, the cabin was absolutely amazing. It is perfectly equiped (we only had to bring our own food) - for those interested, Dunoon is only 5-10 minutes away by car and there's a Morrison's there to buy groceries and stuff-.
The kitchen was spacious, same goes for the lounge -confy sofas and a big TV in case it's raining too much outside and you want to spend the evening watching films.
There's 3 bedrooms in the cabin, although we only needed one of them. The beds are simply amazing -honestly the best bed we have ever slept in! So cousy, soft and warm you will be really looking forward to have a snooze on it! (And will make you never look at your own bed in the same way hehe!).
The surroundings were perfect for having walks with our Bulldog and the Benmore botanic gardens are very near the cabin ( an absolute MUST see -you can also take your dog there-).
As I said, we just got home after spending 4 wonderful days there, but are already planning to go back there again soon. Money very well spent!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the lodge - so glad you enjoyed your stay and had fun exploring the area. We look forwards to welcoming you again next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing