We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent short break”
other travellers have booked this property
The Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge
Lounge Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The Lodge
Lounge
Kitchen
Dining area
Lounge
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bathroom
Porch
Gourock seafront
Bird feeder
Strone
Logo
Hunter's Quay
Table & flowers
Ferry
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joy S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent short break”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

As other reviewers have said this is very nice log cabin in a great location. It was clean and well equipped and the beds were very comfortable. The cabin is one of a group of cabins, but there is a good distance between them and it was very peaceful when we were there. It was a very easy drive from Edinburgh (and would be even easier from Glasgow) so ideal for a short break. There were lovely, well signposted, walks in the area and Benmore gardens are just along the road.
The owner was very easy to communicate with and answered all questions promptly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Happy with everything
Liked least: No mobile phone reception
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thanks for the amazingly positive review.....very much appreciated
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobymonke...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

thank you Gordon for this relaxing holiday it was just perfect for my husband to whined down from work. The kids also loved it as well watching the wild birds come on the bird feeding table and they was espically surprised by a little red squirrel who visited who loved its monkey nuts. We also had a visit from a deer which fulfilled my dream I always wanted to see a wild deer and got to see one at your lodge I was over whelmed that day. I will never forget this place the lodge was home from home, everything you need is in there and the beds are so comfy kids an my husband had a great night sleep the place was pristine and I would definitely go back there again oh and thank you Gordon for the flowers and the box of fudge I will definitely tell all my family and friends about your lodge thank you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: On how peaceful it was
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
Thanks so much for the great review.........you're welcome to come back any time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nessa250
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Had an amazing week here in July with my Husband and our wonderful greyhound , the lodge was excellent very clean and well equipped , pucks glen right on the doorstep and every day wildlife came for a wee visit. We had lovely days out to Inverary to see the old Jail and took the ferry over to the Isle of Bute . To many more trips to mention,. We had a lovely meal at The Creggin Inn And everyplace we visited was dog friendly which was fab. Already looking to book up for next year . Fabulous lodge in a fabulous location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Absolutely no negatives
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
Hi Pearl, just spotted this wonderful review....very much appreciated. Gordon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cazbothwe...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We spent a mid week break here. The lodge was clean, well equipped and the beds really comfortable. We would come back without any hesitation. Loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2015
Thanks a lot for the positive review. It's much appreciated. Hope to have you back another time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
76tss
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb.”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Tremendous stay in Stravaigin Lodge, which is impeccable in every way. Wonderful wee holiday in a lovely location.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2015
Thanks Thea......grateful for the positive review.....come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing