We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance
Living room Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Entrance
Living room
Living room
Living room
Kitchen
Family bedroom
Family bedroom
Double bedroom with ensuite
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Twin bedroom
Apartment exterior
Lower apartment with private parking
Dunoon ferry
Castle House Museum, Dunoon
Dunoon's famous Victorias  Pier
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sandra m
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 2 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

What a perfect place to stay. Myself along with all the family had a fantastic time, the apartment is lovely well maintained and very central to everything. The only down fall was the double bed in the double room it was very uncomfortable and mattress sagged at one-side. Although this was only issue we had. All in all it was a fantastic time we had.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2014
Thank you very much for your kind remarks and feedback. We appreciate all feedback and we will pass on your remarks to the owner to look at replacing the mattress to ensure a more comfortable stay. We look forward to you visiting again soon.
Kind regards
Chrissie ... Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards
Iain, Argyll Self Catering Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
james03St...
stirling
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tired draughty apartment”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

In 2013 we stayed in Dunoon for the February half term break,we loved the area and the accommodation so decided to return,our last holiday let was unavailable so we booked Sebright which looked very smart and was more expensive.
On arrival our first impressions were not good,the apartment was cold with a damp smell throughout, the drying room was untidy with a selection of electrical appliances ,storage containers and garden furniture cluttering the area,the rear garden was also untidy with an old kitchen bin outside the door ,broken fence and rotten red bench,the garden next door is like a scrap yard with old rotten caravans in it and no attempt to hide the view.
The Windows in the lounge and the front bedroom are draughty and wedged close with rolled up cardboard.The bathrooms are tired ,one toilet and a sink leaks ,the floor around one toilet is unstable,the Old televisions in the Bedrooms don't work and the overall cleanliness is poor.Flaking paint on the doors and walls of the kitchen and bathrooms.
The lounge is pleasant apart from the draught from the windows and the loud TV from the upstairs accommodation.
The views are great but sadly the apartment does not live up to how it looks on the internet.
The apartment has potential to be fabulous but poor maintenance and hygiene has let it down.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2014
Dear Sir,

We have noted your issues you have listed on Trip Advisor and we are sorry and surprised to hear your comments. Firstly Sebright Holiday Apartment is listed as a 3 Star property and we feel we do offer this standard plus more to our guests. We strongly deny any hygiene issues, we were only recently assessed by Visit Scotland prior to your arrival and they assured us our property is at the correct level. This is our first complaint we have received of our property in many years and we take your comments on board and we will act accordingly.

We feel the discounted rate we gave you for 5 persons is very reasonable, (less than £9 per person per night, and your pet was free). With the positive and constant feedback we receive continually from our guests we have not had an issue with this in the past therefore your review came to us as a shock.

Your issue with the draught we sincerely apologise for, we were in the process of re-sealing the front windows. As the parts had not arrived in time it was temporarily fixed and checked by maintenance it was secure. A note was left to explain this to you. We didn’t see this was a problem as we did not hear from you after our last contact. We wished you called us at the time you felt there was an issue and we would have rectified this immediately to make your stay more comfortable.

In regards to the utility room issue. Unfortunately with the bad weather that week we needed to bring in the outdoor fold-up chairs and portable BBQ for storage. The plastic bins you highlighted – one is left for recycling (a label is placed on this to advise our guests). The other contains small fishing rods and fishing tackle for guests and children to use on the beach across the road. (All highlighted in the welcome folder). This is also where the iron and ironing board are kept for easy use to our guests. Lastly, the televisions in the bedrooms do work, as per instructions in the welcome folder.

There was a small duration of 14 days in between guest bookings, therefore my housekeeper popped in a day prior to turn heating on and spent an hour dusting to ensure the property was presentable at the standard required. I also made a point of double checking this when I left your welcome wine in the apartment on the day you were due to arrive. Again, if you felt it was inadequate on your arrival on your first day we wished you could have contacted us as we would have rectified any issues immediately.

In regards to the house next door and the waste issues, there is currently a refurbishment happening here. This can only be viewed if you go outside of the apartment to the side. This of course has been an issue for us also the last few months as they also pulled down all the hedges that was hiding this. It has been promised to us by the owners this will be rectified in the next coming weeks. In fact most of the garden has now been cleared.

We will take any feedback seriously from our guests. We do apologise for any discomfort you felt, it is certainly not an outcome we wish our guests to feel on their holiday. It is a shame guests do not contact the owners at the time of an issue so it can be rectified immediately instead of waiting until they return home to place it on Trip Advisor.

As a goodwill gesture we would like to offer you a 50% discount off your next stay with us over the next 12 months.

Regards
Owner, Sebright Holiday Apartment
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McCartie
Harwich, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't have been better - in one word - PERFECT!!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The owners went out of their way to make things just the way we wanted them and made us very comfortable. Also, gave us so many good tips on where to go in the area - terrific places we would have missed if not for Iain. The location in Dunoon was ideal; we could walk everywhere; the beds were comfortable, the kitchen user friendly, bathrooms and towels great and all was spotlessly clean. How could we forget to mention the gorgeous view!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable lounge with the view!
Liked least: We liked it all!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2013
Thank you very much for your kind feedback and comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Sebright Holiday Apartment and in our special part of the world here in the Cowal Peninsula. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again.
Kind regards
Iain and Chrissie Fleming
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing