We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A true place of relaxation in scenic surrounds”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Benmore Byre

Beautiful mountain views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful mountain views
Living area Modern kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Beautiful mountain views
Living area
Modern kitchen
Open dining room
Luxury family room
Luxury double bedroom
Relax on your own deck with wiine and cheese
Luxury modern bathroom
Stunning views from the deck
Dunoon village nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GlennGlen...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A true place of relaxation in scenic surrounds”
Reviewed 30 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Well we were here for Christmas Day 2014. What a fabulous place! So good we've booked again this year.
Set in a beautiful location as you travel up a private road through the amazing Botanical gardens.

We stayed in the Byre. It was clean and spacious and a type of property we have always dreamed of building. With authentic windows and solid wood flooring it is a credit to the ever so friendly ownders that cant do enough for you.
Open the double doors to the decking area where you have a different view every morning. Truly beautiful views over the hills and even better when it rains as you can watch the clouds for ever...Christmas is a fab time as you can see the snow, smell the pure air and light the modern log fire whilst having a tipple!
Kayren thank you for making us so welcome...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2015
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Benmore Byre. We look forward to you visiting again soon.
Kind regards
Chrissie and Iain... Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob6548
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Weeks Holiday”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have just spent another great holiday at the Benmore Byre weather was fantastic .The Byre was great with all the mod cons you need .Plenty space for us all to move about and very comfortable . Loved sitting out on decking in the sun watching Neil the farmer and his dogs working hard .Kayren made us most welcome and had mad us feel at home ,Plenty to see and do around this wonderful place .We have rebooked for next May Thanks Again Guys

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility //Space // Everything//
Liked least: Coming Home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2014
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Benmore Byre and the wonderful location. We look forward to you visiting again soon.
Kind regards
Chrissie ... Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful cottage in a tranquil setting”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Certainly the best cottage we have ever stayed in. Modern and comfortable (including the beds) and thoughtfully designed and decorated.
Safe for babies and small children with a deck and barbeque and being tucked away behind Benmore Gardens it is away from roads and traffic.
We could not fault it.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2014
Thank you for your great review, much appreciated. We look forward to visiting again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bob6548
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

What a great cottage well laid out ,with ease of access. first class décor and comfort and facilities Fabulous views ,great walks nearby with beautiful scenery all round Benmore gardens are a joy to visit .Nearby wild life ,Elvers,in Loch Eck ,Seals at Innellen, Pheasants strutting their stuff Deer on access road to cottage ,And as it is a working farm you can watch Neil train his dogs from decked area .Both Neil and Kayren made us very welcome . So much so We have rebooked for next September

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage layout and views of mountains
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandy F
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning location, excellent cottage”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Benmore Byer is everything the other reviews say it is!!
The cottage itself is set on a working farm, which my kids loved, we were there over the Easter holidays and there was plenty going on with lots of calves and lambs.
The cottage itself was very well appointed with plenty of equipment and a dishwasher which is great when you are family of five! The rooms were all very comfortable with a log burner in the lounge which we didn't use because the weather was so good.
The surrounding area has plenty to offer, lots of good walks, about a mile down the private road from the farm is Loch Eck which is worth a look also Puck's Glen i think this was my favourite walk it has a magical feel to it. There is also the Botanic Gardens right on your door step with free tickets provided from the owners and its definitely worth taking a look.
Last but by no means least was the lovely welcome we received from the owners Neil and Kayren, a big thank you to you both especially to Neil with helping find a vet when our dog hurt herself and most of all for letting me feed the baby lambs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, and the standard of the property
Liked least: Having to go home!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review. It really is much appreciated. Hopefully we will see you visiting again soon. Kind regards Iain, Argyll Self catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing