We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveller rating
394
46
10
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
46
10
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews firth of clyde red squirrels warm welcome perfect hosts small hotel friendly hosts four poster lovely hotel lovely room stunning views lamont graham scotland driveway peninsula ferry
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 455 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

I cannot recommend this place enough. Graeme and Claire are lovely hosts and incredibly interesting people! The hotel is very central and spacious and has been fabulously furnished. All the rooms are big with comfortable beds and ensuite. There is a lovely lounge and dining room where we would have meetings. A fantastic stay and chatting to Graeme about his travels and Buddhism was amazing. He also is a great cook!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Sahara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare0515, Owner at Abbot's Brae, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Huge thanks Sahara for writing us such a lovely review, it was a pleasure to have you all stay with us and we look forward to seeing you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Lovely room overlooking hotel gardens and the Loch/Sea. We enjoyed an excellent dinner and the owners/staff were very friendly. Well worth a visit if you are visiting or travelling around the are. Just a few minutes (pleasant) walk to the town centre and a few minutes drive from the ferry.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bee8970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare0515, Owner at Abbot's Brae, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Abbot's Brae is an old historic building perched on a hill overlooking the Firth of Clyde. Graham and Clare were most welcoming and very attentive. After settling us in the room with a view of the Firth, Graham whipped up a first-rate dinner for us about one-half hour later.
As it still remained light after dinner, we set out to find the ruins of 15th and 16th century Toward Castle (not to be confused with Castle Toward, a much newer manor castle built 1820) at the tip of the peninsula, about 15 minutes away. Toward Castle was one of the holdings of Clan Lamont, and is now being cared for by the Clan Lamont Society. There is nothing left of the castle but the stone entryway and courtyard, and bake house. The tower is mostly ruins, with only the south wall remaining at its full height. Nevertheless, it was so meaningful to me as a possible descendant of that Clan to walk the ground of that tragic place.
Clare greeted us in the morning with a fine breakfast, after which we checked out and visited the lighthouse, again at the tip of the peninsula. We then made our way north through the Argyll National Park Forest. A truly spectacular scenic drive.

Room Tip: Ask for the "sea view" room.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank melirish8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Although the reviews on trip advisor go back many years, there has been a change of ownership in past few years. The decor is clean, modern and welcoming as is the host Graham. We had a room to the front with fine views over the Firth of Clyde. There is a lovely lunge for sitting and a small bar to serve drinks. We had drinks on one of the evenings and then a meal cooked by Graham. It was delicious and there was no problem catering either for vegetarian or gluten free requests. Breakfast similarly was of a very high standard and I had porridge and my wife had cooked options. The standard of hospitality is outstanding in a beautiful old building with stunning views.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dunoon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare0515, Owner at Abbot's Brae, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Huge thanks for the lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

Graham and Claire are enthusiastic hosts of this cosy hotel. We had the four poster room which was spacious, warm and with great views across the firth of Clyde. The bathroom was a good size and very clean with a bath with shower unit. The towels were of good quality and water piping hot. We enjoyed dinner and a glass of wine both of which were of good value and nicely presented. This is not 5 star luxury and has some patina but if you are looking for a a very clean, friendly stop over or base to tour Argyle from this is a super, comfortable little hotel! If you have difficulty with stairs or climbs this is not one for you as there is no elevator and the hotel is perched at the top of a hill up its own driveway, which makes for great views! Breakfast is prepared by the hosts and is generous. My wife had the porridge and I enjoyed smoked salmon and scrambled eggs....they will cook pretty much whatever you want.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank swisscoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews