We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveller rating
394
46
10
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
46
10
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews firth of clyde red squirrels warm welcome perfect hosts small hotel friendly hosts four poster lovely hotel lovely room stunning views lamont graham scotland driveway peninsula ferry
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 455 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

Graham and Claire are enthusiastic hosts of this cosy hotel. We had the four poster room which was spacious, warm and with great views across the firth of Clyde. The bathroom was a good size and very clean with a bath with shower unit. The towels were of good quality and water piping hot. We enjoyed dinner and a glass of wine both of which were of good value and nicely presented. This is not 5 star luxury and has some patina but if you are looking for a a very clean, friendly stop over or base to tour Argyle from this is a super, comfortable little hotel! If you have difficulty with stairs or climbs this is not one for you as there is no elevator and the hotel is perched at the top of a hill up its own driveway, which makes for great views! Breakfast is prepared by the hosts and is generous. My wife had the porridge and I enjoyed smoked salmon and scrambled eggs....they will cook pretty much whatever you want.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank swisscoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Lovely old building on outskirts of Dunoon built c. 1830. Proprietors are extremely friendly and cant do enough for you.Terrific long reaching views over the Firth of Clyde as hotel is elevated. Only downside is access road is steep, narrow and windy. But its worth it! Lovely breakfast in charming dining room. Owners told me that red squirrels have been seen in their garden!

Room Tip: Best views are from the front overlooking the Firth of Clyde.. we had garden view which was fine..
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

Brilliant 2 night stay at this hotel - our host, Graham, could not have done anything to make us feel more welcome. The food was excellent and freshly cooked to order - even if it wasn't on the menu, Graham would happily accommodate our needs. We stayed in the very large room overlooking the Firth of Clyde. A comfy four poster bed, huge bathroom and a fantastic view made this a place that we would be happy to recommend again and again. Hope you enjoyed the Dylan gig and keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the four poster bedroom - well worth it
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank chris2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We were given a Christmas present of a dinner B&B and decide to use it at The Abbots Brae Hotel Dunoon. The hotel is a big imposing house at the top of a long drive up a steep hill which we did actually walk up. The room we had was at the top of the hotel and very nicely furnished. It had everything that we needed and a good sized bathroom. The views were over the garden and hills although there were rooms with a sea view which were already booked. We had a lovely evening meal with wine and sat looking out over the Loch. If you want a quiet stay, with excellent food, very friendly hosts and a well furnished comfortable hotel, this is just the ticket. I am afraid that there is very little to do in Dunoon except walk along the seafront. Although there was a nudist's conference going on in the town I believe that week. We just seemed to relax as soon as got there and if ever we go to Dunoon again I would love to stay here.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet there are sea view rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JanetJohn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Only a one night stay but perfect. Room very nice with beautiful views. Graham and Claire are perfect hosts, breakfast and evening meal brilliant, entire experience faultless. Can't wait to go back, especially for wine tasting (Cloud factory a hit).....5star stay for us

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews