We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveller rating
394
46
10
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
46
10
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews firth of clyde red squirrels warm welcome perfect hosts small hotel friendly hosts four poster lovely hotel lovely room stunning views lamont graham scotland driveway peninsula ferry
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 455 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Only a one night stay but perfect. Room very nice with beautiful views. Graham and Claire are perfect hosts, breakfast and evening meal brilliant, entire experience faultless. Can't wait to go back, especially for wine tasting (Cloud factory a hit).....5star stay for us

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Had a great overnight swould tay on Fri 31 March Host Graham "Clare Where very very good would define try go back a lovely walk along the front the weather was lovely It's only 1hour 30 minutes from Glasgow

Room Tip: I was on ground floor very comfy and quiet
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marionhughes1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

The greeting from the owner was very warm and genuine, and set us up perfectly for the stay. We had a large room, with four poster, which was lovely, and the food was very good (we had pork and lamb) plus the cooked breakfast was delightful.

Room Tip: It's quite a long way to the top, but the views are worth it
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DaveSMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Stayed here for an evening and Clare and graham made us most welcome. Rooms are spacious, beds very comfy and the hotel is spotless. Food is excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would definitely recommend and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room as views are stunning
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

I paid £92 per night stayed in 4 nights to have a sight of the back loan. Nothing much to offer.. No dinner serving on Sundays and Mondays, I went to town to get fed so unlucky i checked in Monday night. Avoid staying here its not worth paying.. Lastly, so very few choices in the menu enjoyed my Chinese take away in town.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Tello F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greig052015, Owner at Abbot's Brae, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Thanks for taking the time to write a review albeit not a very positive one. We do state quite clearly on the website that we do not serve evening meals on a Sunday /Monday as we own and work the hotel and would quite like a night off. We also know that there are some good options for people that are very close by and therefore don't really feel that we are deceiving our guests in any way. As for the room, I am sorry that you didn't like the view of the Gardens, most people do get to see deer, pheasants and rabbits at this time of year but they are also out and about exploring the area. Had you booked a sea view room you would have had a different view but again they are both very descriptive and we in no way feel that they are deceiving our guests. Finally in response to the menu options, if we are forewarned that there are guests arriving with specific needs we will go out of our way to ensure those needs are met but we do keep our menu's fairly brief, offering a choice of 4 mains ect, as everything is cooked to order and it avoids waste, however we do accept that you simply did not appreciate the choices available.
Kind Regards
Clare & Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews