We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Good views if outside.

Large menu with gluten free options. Lovely pub on a nice day. Sit and watch the horses go by... read more

Reviewed 22 September 2020
TinaG29
,
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
A busy place with some good service

Another restaurant for an evening meal during our holiday on the Isle of Wight. This restaurant bar... read more

Reviewed 16 September 2020
Phil B
,
Great Wyrley, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 122 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Isle of Wight
from US$ 18.38
More Info
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
60
38
10
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
60
38
10
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new forest the pub sandy balls ate here large choice huge portions at busy times large menu beef and ale pie large car park value for money isle of wight ponies cider stroke
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2020

Large menu with gluten free options. Lovely pub on a nice day. Sit and watch the horses go by. Staff all friendly.

Date of experience: September 2020
Thank TinaG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2020 via mobile

Another restaurant for an evening meal during our holiday on the Isle of Wight. This restaurant bar is quite large and can be busy, but it wasn't to any detriment.

The meals were generally very good but i felt the beef and ale pie was a little bland. Plenty of choice on the menu though.

Our waiter disappeared partway through our meal but the replacement young lady was much more pleasant.

Would definitely return to the Fighting cocks.

Date of experience: September 2020
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2020 via mobile

Ate here several times as only 20min walk from Sandy balls. They had an outdoor covered area to enjoy a meal outside & a play area for the kids. Ate ribeye steaks, hunter chicken & ribs which were all good & had reasonable quick service. Yes you can smell the horses & ponies & there is separate queuing for food & drinks (a bit pricey here) but nice stop if in area.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank Amberleyadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2020 via mobile

A lovely stop off. Friendly staff who were doing their best under the covid restrictions. Will be going back next time we are passing.

Date of experience: July 2020
Thank Foodislifeiloveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020 via mobile

Asked for a medium rare steak, and received medium well. No check back was done, so I went to the bar to ask for a replacement. Was sent another medium well. Check back asked how it was and i told them it wasn't right still. Was just told that "the chef was on his break". Adequate training should be given to members of staff. The kids meals where or good quality though so at least they were happy.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank HANGRYHEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews