We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Swallows Nest

The Swallows Nest...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Swallows Nest...
The Swallows Nest... The Swallows Nest...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
The Swallows Nest...
The Swallows Nest...
The Swallows Nest...
Quality and quirky throughout.
Spacious kitchen with fab views.
Stunning views from the kitchen down the valley.
View from The Swallows Nest
What a clock!
Kitchen
Stairs up to the kitchen
Luxury master bedroom with bespoke oak bed.
Bedroom 2 with double bed
Single room with pitch pine bed.
Quirky lighting!
Family bathroom.
Family bathroom.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
blondie37...
west midlands england
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“fantastic”
Reviewed 28 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed at swallows nest for 3 nights and it was fantastic every thing was there what we needed as we had a small baby with us.the cottage was spotless and very homely.Sally left us a welcome pack bread butter ect .we will be back again real soon we loved it .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: log fire
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2015
Thank you for your review, i'm glad we met all your requirements. Look forward to hearing from you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ineedabre...
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An absolute gem!”
Reviewed 10 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We have just returned from 2 nights at Swallow's Nest - it was simply perfect. It ticked every box for us - peaceful, beautiful and excellently furnished and equipped. We hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was so cosy and comfortable
Liked least: We had to leave it!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2015
Thank you for your comments and glad you had a relaxing weekend. Hope to welcome you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniellej...
1 review
“Excellent and peaceful”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Our family stay was relaxing and peaceful. The accomodation, the welcome and the area was all 5 star. The rooms are clean and modern with all the facilities that you require, Sally is welcoming and helpful and the area is idyllic for a relaxing break with hillside walks on the doorstep.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2015
Thank you for the great review and glad you enjoyed the break and time together.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
“A beautiful place with everything you need”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The Swallows Nest is a beautiful cottage in the lovely Slaithwaite. The place has been done to a high standard with attention to detail but still feels lovely and homely.
I booked the cottage for my 30th birthday and travelled with my partner and friends, we all thought the place was lovely as did friends and family that popped up to the cottage. We felt looked after and had everything we needed and even the fire had been lit for us for our arrival, which made it feel so very cosy.
With a 10-15 minute walk down into Slaithwaite itself, with access to trains to the likes of Huddersfield, Leeds, York or Manchester it really is a lovely place to stop and travel from. The walk back up to the cottage is all up hill but manageable and the views are worth it.
I will definitely be booked again when we next visit from the Netherlands.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2015
Glad everything was perfect for your birthday and hope to welcome you in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreena S
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“THE BEST WEEKEND AWAY!”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

At arrival we were greeted by Kath who was extremely friendly and just left us to see the property in our own space and time which we preferred; we were made feel comfortable straight away. The car park was spacious and we parked our cars on the property for secure parking. The cottage was spotless....smelt amazing and thoroughly clean! We were not disturbed by anyone which meant I was stress free. We literally just got on with it and had a fantastic weekend! I am already booking another weekend soon! Sally was very friendly and we met her at check-out. I left the property clean as a show of my respect to the home and left it just as clean as it was when we walked in. I highly recommend this place! Cannot wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the cottage
Liked least: finding the cottage
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2015
Thank you for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing