We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
WRAP UP

Wrap up well & make sure you do not need a toilet as yet there are none but the views are... read more

Reviewed yesterday
COLIN E
,
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
A scheduled monument, which is now underthreat from a planning application for an hotel building

Views of Huddersfield and countryside marvellous. Good for walking and fersh air. Can be reached by... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Sandra H
,
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Read all 441 reviews
  
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
239
140
43
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
140
43
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews victoria tower kite flying the pub worth the climb brilliant views single track worth the effort information boards opening times walk up worth the trip run around sunny day west yorkshire windy picnic landmark
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 436 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Wrap up well & make sure you do not need a toilet as yet there are none but the views are absolutely stunning ideal for a picnic in the summer months oe any time if you wrap up

Thank COLIN E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Views of Huddersfield and countryside marvellous. Good for walking and fersh air.
Can be reached by bus from Town Centre
Driving a car up can be difficult but there are passing places. Ranger very helpful and arranges walks on special days

Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Castle Hill has been painted from every angle imaginable. There has been a castle there in the distant past which is no longer in evidence. But there is a structure there that was erected to commemorate the Golden jubilee 0f Queen Victoria hence the title Jubilee Tower which majestically points up to pale blue skyline .It can be seen from miles around with a backcloth of the rolling Yorkshire Pennines. I have visited on many occasions and never tire of seeing the wonders of nature

1  Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Son started at Huddersfield Uni this September and thought it might be good to show him some of the local heritage. We went up mid October and it is not that far from the centre of town, but what greeted us was an unexpected 360% view of the town and local area for miles around. The tower sits in a nice park, big enough to enjoy a relaxing stroll around whilst taking in the views. However, what made it so memorable for us, was that it was a really windy day, an we had such a laugh at the top of the tower due to the force of the wind, which carried on as we attempted to walk around the base afterwards.

I would recommend it for the views, but go on a really windy day and you won't forget your visit in a hurry....

Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went for a nice - not too long walk - fab views of Huddersfield and the surrounding area. it was very windy. There are no facilities up here, just a car park, worth a visit on a clear day for the view.

Thank customer406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

Its a great place for a walk

the view from the top of the hill over the whole of huddersfield is great

Thank BenBamforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

Very nice place I think there’s a history about that place we have been once anyone will go to Huddersfield , they have to visit that place amazing

Thank m3vr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

Visited this site on Heritage Open Weekend so free to enter which was a bonus. Was really pleased that we could climb right to the top and see the great view from the roof. Lots of steps, but this was not a surprise. The late Victorian tower is interesting to visit and the whole site is well maintained and spacious. There are plenty of information boards with interesting facts about the site. Paths and steps are very well kept and we really enjoyed the visit. I had wanted to go for ages and this was too good an opportunity to miss.

2  Thank dcmleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We visited the Castle on one very sunny but windy day. Had fantastic views and had our breath taken away all at the same time. Haha was fantastic really can recommend the steps up for a good workout.

Thank JacquiSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Great place for a picnic on a fine day. Loads of room for the kids to run and play as the hill has a large flat field at the top. Worth going up the castle itself as the view from the top is amazing.

Thank Dianeholidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews