We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Stayed at the Old Golf House recently and my only (minor) complaint was that the rooms were too warm. Our room was very spacious and spotlessly clean. Despite the M62 motorway running directly behind the hotel we were not disturbed by traffic noise. Food, especially breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. Huddersfield is 3.5 miles away, taxis cost £18 return, but there is a regular bus service and the bus stop is directly opposite the hotel. There are two pubs and a shop nearby but there is nothing else to do/see in the immediate area. However, I would recommend the Old Golf House hotel and I would return.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 49, which appears to be more spacious than some of the other rooms. There is no l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsDoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    100
    73
    26
    19
See reviews for
88
124
9
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

My son and his partner had their civil partnership ceremony and reception here, all the staff were very helpful, the food was fantastic and the rooms were comfortable and clean. The staff couldn't do enough for us they were all fantastic. it was a very enjoyable day from start to finish. Breakfast the next morning was excellent. All our guests commented on how good a day they had. I would definitely recommend the Old Golf house for a wedding.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights due to a family celebration being held here. The food was extremely disappointing, with the beef from the Sunday roast being very tough, and the supposedly 'home-made' chips were clearly frozen. The room again was very average, and far too hot, with the fan taking a long time to have any effect on the temperature and was no use at night due to being too loud. The one saving grace of this hotel is the staff, who were attentive and warm at all times.

I will not be going back but luckily the elderly family members, of whom the party was for, appeared to enjoy themselves and felt valued by the staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank All_Smiles_Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I had my wedding here for the bank holiday and we stayed for the whole of it and I have to stay I cannot fault the service and everything went to plan meals were great and nothing was too much trouble, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walkers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
152 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed at the Old Golf House on a Friday and Saturday night because our friends were holding their wedding there.

The most negative thing I can really say about the Old Golf House is that the hotel is a bit tired. Everything was clean and tidy, both in our room and hotel in general, but everything is just really old and starting to look shabby. The carpeting needs replacing (in particular, our room had a iron burn on the carpet), the walls need repainting, and everything just needs modernising. There's some evidence to show that this is happening however, as on the Saturday morning a delivery of new chairs for the restaurant arrived, which are much nicer than the old ones.

Tired or not though, our total bill for the two night stay, plus our bar bill (and we were partying at the wedding reception for all the Saturday), was only £200 - which is a bargain, considering what I'm used to paying for hotels (£200 per night for B&B only)!

The staff were very efficient and friendly. There did seems to be a staff shortage at times, but since they were tying to ensure the wedding went smoothly, it's not surprising that they were away from the reception or bar for a few minutes.

The food was nice, especially the wedding breakfast. And the evening buffet was simple, but tasty. The normal breakfast was slightly let down by the apparent cheapness of the ingredients (particularly the sausages), but it was still nice enough.

I would never have stayed at the Old Golf House normally, and only went because of the wedding. But as a wedding venue, it seemed pretty good. And while we were there, we had a good time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Drewll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
#12 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
3.0 km away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
9.2 km away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
7.6 km away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
6.1 km away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield

Property: The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Address: New Hey Road | Outlane, Huddersfield HD3 3YP, England (Formerly Old Golf House Corus Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,533 - ₹ 5,720
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Golf House Hotel, Huddersfield is elegantly designed in ageless Yorkshire stone and originally part of the prestigious Outlane Golf Club, the 17th century style hotel is surrounded by three acres of beautiful gardens which include a 5-hole pitch and putt green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Hotel Corus
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing