We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views of the moors from lovely rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Carriage House Inn
Ranked #15 of 25 Huddersfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great views of the moors from lovely rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed for a night recently, and booked an evening meal too. We were persuaded to try the Turkish cusine by other guests - and a delicious smell being served in the bar! Lovely food, eaten in the comfprtable restaurant. The pub area has a cosy, old feel to it, and a good range of ales, etc.

The rooms are lovely - very well-finished, with comfortable bed, crisp white linen and beautiful bathrooms. There is a flat-screen TV and tea/coffee-making facilities, with views over the moors. We couldn't criticise anything at all.

Breakfast in the morning was very good, served in the conservatory, over-looking the moors. Great value and very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twixtthepennines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    23
    5
    7
    4
See reviews for
17
39
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Excellent, friendly service. Spectacular landscape but also close to the main A62. Very welcome cooked breakfast included in the price - full tradtional English or fish. Advice - we had trouble finding it on arrival in the dark. The map available on the web appears to place the location within Marsden. In fact the location is well into the countryside and to the west of Marsden - persist and eventually it will be obvious on the south side of the A62. Also, on TripAdvisor, this establishment does not show up when searching for Marsden - even though Marsden is the nearest village.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianRGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

We found this inn on the internet for an overnight stay in October and would certainly stay here again if in the area. The rooms have been recently built and ours was very spacious with modern fittings, including flat screen TV. The Inn is high on the moors and there are views from both the front and rear of the inn. As we were going out for the evening, we only sampled the bar menu and not the full a la carte Turkish menu. Our food was excellent and clearly freshly cooked. The full English breakfast was also up to the same standard and served in the conservatory, again, overlooking the moors.

Whilst there are only a few rooms, the inn also has a camping and caravan site and when we returned late on Saturday night there was a friendly atmosphere in the bar with karaoke, although from our room you could not hear it.

The only slight minus was that our room was over the shower block for the camp site and early in the evening there was a loud hum from the extractor fans below. However, unlike some hotels I've stayed in they do ensure they are switched off overnight so you can appreciate the complete stillness of the moors and get a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boaterondryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We chose this Inn after reading reviews and were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the room. Newly decorated and furnished, it was comfortable, spacious and well equipped. The staff were helpful and friendly, the beer cold and the location amazing. Breakfast was huge! One of the best breakfasts had in a hotel, out shone some 5* establishments. Would stay here again any time

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelmasterTeesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Popped in here whilst driving up over the moors. It was a Sunday and very quiet. Never a good sign but the food (steak and ale pie) was tasty enough if a little lacking on meat for me.

What was unusual was the menu being partly Turkish cuisine. Now we're quite partial to Turkish food so will be returning to see what its like.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

There was a small campsite to the rear of the pub/hotel which is always good to know.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fourtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huddersfield
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
0.0 km away
Saddleworth Hotel
Saddleworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Delph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.0 km away
Durker Roods Hotel
Durker Roods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Meltham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
0.0 km away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.0 km away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriage House Inn

Property: The Carriage House Inn
Address: Manchester Road | Marsden, Huddersfield HD7 6NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Huddersfield
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,275 - ₹ 6,497
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carriage House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carriage House Inn Huddersfield, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing