We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Porthole Cottage - Enjoy the View!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Porthole Cottage

Porthole Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Porthole Cottage
Porthole Cottage located on North Hill
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Porthole Cottage
Porthole Cottage located on North Hill
Open plan lounge
central staircase
The fully fitted kitchen
The double bedroom
The twin bedroom
View from bay window
Decking
View from french windows
Garden table & Chairs
Decking
The Waverley Steam boat from Porthole window
Rolling hills of Exmoor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Minehead, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Trovers
Mirfield, West Yorkhire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Porthole Cottage - Enjoy the View!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

After a long and stressful journey the anticipated view lived up to expectations. The cottage itself was clean and had all the required amenities. There was ample free parking on the road at the top of the drive and this is where our car stayed for almost a week as we explored on foot. It has a good-sized decking area which overlooks the bay, and if you are lucky with the weather, you can enjoy the early morning sunshine here. The accommodation is designed for around 4 people, but we found that the kitchen/bathroom area was probably just large enough for 2 adults and a teenager. There were many scenic walks that could commence from the cottage and the location would suit keen ramblers. Down in the town most of the bars and restaurants are on the main street (The Avenue) and they offer a wide range of food to suit most tastes, though the walk back up the steep hill may be a problem to anyone with mobility problems. The owners of the property live next door, and though we had no issues, it was nice to know that they were nearby if anything did occur.
A thoroughly enjoyable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The toilet/bathroom being downstairs
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puzzlecre...
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More beautiful than its picture”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Excellent vacation cottage that exceeded expectations. A wonderful welcoming note on the table with tea and cake awaited us on arrival. Our stay at this clean and picture perfect place was nothing but delightful. We only wish we would have had more time to enjoy the local surrounding town of Minehead and the story book villages in the vicinity. Every moment at the cottage was amazing with the awesome views of the bay and Dunster Castle just a short distance away. Jeremy and Karin are great hosts and do an outstanding job to ensure all comfort needs are met. We can hardly wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the cleanliness.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superunkn...
Lichfield
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Heaven in a Stressful World”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We hadn't been able to book anywhere to go due to my hubby having had a number of operations with the last one being in April. Therefore, we had booked our time off work and decided we would look for something as and when we knew how things were going (after a check-up). In the end, it meant that we were looking for somewhere to go the week before we had our annual leave booked. We scoured the internet for days just hoping to find somewhere. We didn't mind where, just somewhere with a sea view. This cottage jumped off the web page and grabbed our attention and we are so glad because it is a total and utter gem.

I am not sure what the best thing is about this cottage because there are so many good points. The first thing that struck me was its chocolate box appearance. Then I saw the sea view. Then I saw the beautiful interior. The only potential issue was the "on-road" parking. I got on Google Streetview and had a good look. It looked fine. Within a couple of minutes of discovering the cottage I was shouting, "Book it", excitedly at my hubby.

I knew the cottage was going to be great but had no idea just how fantastic. When we arrived and walked down the drive, we could see how stunning the cottage is in real life, much more so than in a photograph. We got a little glimpse of the sea view over the side gate. I looked at the lovely window box full of flowers and the porthole in the cottage door and loved the cottage straight away. We collected our key from Karin, and received a lovely warm welcome, and got unloaded, into the cottage and unpacked.

The cottage is quite small, however, it is so exceptionally well designed that it doesn't feel it. Everything has a purpose. The sofa is lovely, large and comfy and would put to shame sofas in larger properties. The decor is has a lovely cottage feel with a modern twist. It is also very refreshing and seasidey with its relaxing colour scheme and stripy blinds and cushions. There are some lovely pieces of artwork around the property and you can tell that the owners genuinely care about their guests having a lovely holiday. There was a little pot of jam and some clotted cream and scones left out for a welcome cream tea after our drive.

Then, there's the view and what a view it is, very expansive seascape that is one of the largest tidal reaches in the country. Therefore, you can hear the sea all the time with the ebb and flow of the long tide. It's very relaxing. Then there's the lovely decked area outside. Through the French doors and up some steps to a fabulous elevated deck sheltered by numerous trees behind. Despite the weather not being the best, we felt warm enough to sit out two evenings during our stay and those evenings were the most chilled out we have had for some time.

The parking space is absolutely fine despite not being off-road. There is plenty of space to get in and out. It's not far down the drive to the cottage either. The cottage has everything you need and more including lovely bedding and fluffy towels. The cottage was lovely and warm and has central heating in the lounge with other radiators supplied for the other rooms (which we didn't need to use).

There are two supermarkets locally, a Morrisons and a TESCO and there is a good array of shops, pubs and restaurants in Minehead itself. The beach is a short but steep walk down from the cottage. The beach is very pebbly but has good access. I found lots of pieces of seaglass and saw some fossils. Some of the pebbles are really fascinating too. There are also patches of sand so something for everyone on this beach. The only surprise was that it was so deserted. If you walk down the path to the beach and the main road and cross the road, you will see the start of the South West Coast Path with its shiny map sculpture giving you a welcoming twinkle in the sun.

There are some great places to visit in the area including Dunster Castle (NT) and Lynton and Lynmouth and the cliff railway there. There is also the West Somerset Steam Railway in Minehead itself.

We had many local walks including a very strenuous walk to the top of North Hill. It was well worth it though because we had some spectacular views from up there. We drove up another day too to go to the furthest viewpoints as we only walked to the first one. You can see South Wales from up there and the views are fantastic. We also saw quite a few small groups of Exmoor ponies.

The overwhelming thing about staying here was just how peaceful it all was. This is something that I needed very badly after a really stressful time over the previous twelve months. I don’t think I have ever relaxed so much on holiday. We both enjoyed ourselves so much that we will definitely be booking another week at some point next year.

Thanks to Karin and Jeremy for their kind hospitality. We had an amazing time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the cottage, the deck, the peace and quiet
Liked least: I didn't dislike anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula K
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My husband and I had a fabulous stay in this wonderful little cottage. It had everything we needed and was immaculate throughout. The owners are lovely and were very helpful. The view was to die for :-)

Would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and patio area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wanderer3...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great cottage with panoramic view”
Reviewed 8 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a week staying in this lovely cottage. Jeremy and Karin have got the right balance between being friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The cottage had everything we needed.
The sun deck is perfect for breakfast as it's quite sheltered with views over the bay and the countryside. Or you can enjoy the same view from the inside, with a window seat to lounge on. It's a short distance from the cottage down into town or to the beach or up onto the edge of Exmoor. We enjoyed a very relaxing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing