We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
50
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade bread highly recommend this to anyone south west coast path full english breakfast perfect hosts perfect place to stay b bs stayed here for nights a wonderful stay excellent location one night good size comfortable bed warm welcome monroe andrew exmoor
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2018

Warm welcome, friendly and relaxed atmosphere, comfortable room with good facilities, central but quiet location, easy parking, excellent breakfast, and the perfact base for exploring the wonderful surrounding area.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank YorksGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Owner at Montrose Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thanks ever so much for the brilliant review - its really appreciated. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

We have just come back from two weeks at this guest house ,once again it was exceptional from the delicious breakfast and home made bread to the cleanliness of the house keeping Andy and Helen are lovely hosts and we were sad to leave , nothing was too much trouble,if you book here you will not be disappointed we can't wait to go back .

Room Tip: Rooms at the back can get hot but they do supply a fan.ground floor room great for less able bodied but it gets booked up quickly.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank _grahammcollyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Owner at Montrose Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

What a fantastic review - thank you so much! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

We have stayed in many B&Bs over the years and this is the best yet. We had a front facing room which was just right for us. The whole place is spotlessly clean, the owners are very friendly and the breakfast was superb. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Owner at Montrose Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review - this sort of feedback makes it all the more worthwhile for us. We'd love to see you again at some point in the - hopefully near - future.
Regards,
Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Montrose Guest House is perfect in every way. Welcoming owners, friendly, helpful but never intrusive. Twin bedded room on front of house was spotlessly clean, light, bright and spacious with tasteful decor. More than adequate cupboard storage with plentiful supply of hangers in wardrobe. Beds extremely comfortable. Even the pillows passed my test! Extensive refreshments tray including several types of hot beverages and biscuits with the offer of fresh milk which was greatly appreciated. Our full English Breakfast was excellent. Everything cooked to perfection and just as we requested. Served quickly, piping hot and beautifully presented. The delicious bread served as toast was home made by the owner as were the selection of jams & marmalades.
Montrose is ideally situated in a tree lined avenue, very quiet at night yet only 3-5 mins (approx) walk to the town centre and beach. Parking was never a problem with spaces directly in front of Montrose or plenty of street parking. I highly recommend Andy & Helen at the Montrose and look forward to returning in the Autumn.

Room Tip: Spacious with large windows and plenty of light
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynrosejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Owner at Montrose Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

What a fantastic review! Thank you so much. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

I needed a place to stay during the recent bad weather, couldn't have wished for anywhere better. Warm and comfortable with welcoming and attentive hosts but never intrusive. Room was great, very comfortable bed, excellent wifi and lovely extra touches like biscuits and fresh milk. Location was ideal for the town center and beach. Really enjoyed my stay - thank you.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank pauljU8710NU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, Owner at Montrose Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thanks for the fantastic review - I hope we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews