We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (465)
Filter reviews
465 results
Traveller rating
216
160
55
23
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
216
160
55
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view swimming pool the cliff waitress service funicular railway coach party lovely friendly hotel dining room hot tub seaside hotel coach trip third floor quiet area bit dated parking permit reception staff single bed
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 465 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2018

We had a lovely clean room with a very good shower and large comfortable bed.
It was straight into the entertainment at 8.30pm without having to sit through the dreaded bingo first like they do at some hotels. The bar prices were reasonable and we had some enjoyable evenings.
We had no complaints about the food and the staff were very friendly, well done Red Lea.
It's a shame the cliff lift at the bottom of the road wasn't working as they are doing some maintenance work but there is a little bus [44] that stops outside the hotel and take you to town [ The Grand Hotel ] You catch it at the back of Debenhams for the return journey. The staff on reception at Red Lea should let the guests know about this bus as I know lots of them were getting taxis and I myself had to enquire about the local buses, maybe a notice pinned up at the reception would help.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eatalot47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

One lift, holds 2/3 max. Windows don’t lock, and need to be double glazed. Sounded as though someone was using a pneumatic drill every time guests in next room used their shower. Walls paper thin. Whole place very old fashioned. Food OK but limited choices, bar and snacks expensive.

Date of stay: October 2018
18  Thank Cestwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

What a lovely hotel the staff were so helpful. The hotel was was very clean and so comfortable, the food was to a high standard. We stayed for 4 days in one of the apartments which was excellent. I would highly recommended this hotel and we will certainly be returning.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank JimRidsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We booked for one night. The hotel is on a quiet road, just 10 minutes walk from Scarborough centre.

There is only on street parking available, it was busy but we managed to find a space and the hotel give you a parking pass.

The room was really nice, clean, plenty of supplies of tea, coffee etc. The decor is a little dated (but to be honest, this adds to the charm).

The bed was really comfy (we have stayed in a few places in Scarborough and this was definitely the most comfortable so far).

A good selection for breakfast and it arrived quickly. Our waiter was very attentive but I noticed others were not.

Would we stay again...yes but at £100 a night, there are cheaper places in the area that are just as good.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Our recent 5 day stay at Red Lea Hotel was excellent .The rooms were clean the staff were very efficient and friendly.Our party were greeted on arrival and all baggage was delivered to our rooms within the first minutes of our arrival.
The meals were first class with a good choice from a variety of meals to choose from..
In all a n excellent hotel and we are looking forward to a future visit.
Well done Red Lea

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews