We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,427)
Filter reviews
1,427 results
Traveller rating
334
418
291
198
186
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
418
291
198
186
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool and sauna spa facilities lovely hotel self service bay window the cliff one night stay buffet style street parking a lovely stay my mum plenty of choice full english night break town centre tea and coffee cooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,427 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Just returned from a 3 night break staying at the Ambassador. When we checked in we were given a room on the third floor. We made our way to the room down narrow passageways and were greeted with what can only be described as a glorified prison cell. the window was very small with a high sill and the room was smaller than most bathrooms! The heating did not work (the corridor was warmer!) so we complained and were given another room on the first floor. This room was a vast improvement as if I had wished, I could actually have swung a cat around. Don't be mistaken though, the bar had been set very low, so this room was by no means good. Spacious as it was, the TV was so small that it was difficult to view from the relative comfort of the bed. The bath panel consisted of three pieces of wood crudely attached by a blind man in his sleep. The cushion flooring had more holes than a colander and the shower had two temperatures, cold or colder!
After a poor nights sleep due to the occupants of the room above deciding to stomp around their room at 3am wearing lead boots, we made our way to breakfast. It did not disappoint! The cooked breakfast consisted of very cheap ingredients and the fried eggs made of rubber! The staff looked about as happy to be there as we were. Needless to say, breakfast consisted of toast the next day and we didn't even bother after that.
In the interest of balance, the hotel did have a couple of redeeming features. The view was nice. Erm...There was plenty of on street free parking close to the hotel.
We have stayed in many hotels, B+B's and cottages over the years and I can honestly say this ranks as one of the worse. To be honest, it could be a nice place with some investment and a little TLC, but I think the owners run it on a shoestring and it shows. Avoid the Ambassador as I'm sure there are plenty of alternatives that are better quality. On the bright side, the hotel was that poor that we didn't want to stay in the room for more time than necessary so we visited plenty of the local attractions and did more than we planned!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Dez B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

The beds were comfortable and clean is the best I can say....

Now the poor bits.
Electric sockets loose .
Pool area changing room small & dirty, the lockers had no keys. Sauna very small
Pool very cold and clearly not cleaned on a regular basis, so over use of chlorine resulted in such a strong smell it stings your eyes as soon as you enter the changing room. Breakfast was no better, the hotel was full so not enough food was being brought out and as people were having two rashers of bacon and sausage this meant you could not have a full breakfast.

Only stay here if every where else is full

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickVLeicetser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

Absolutely disgusted! Booked for an overnight stay as we were in the area, from entering the property it was run down, not what was advertised. We were booked in and given directions to our room which was on the second floor. Arrived at the room first impressions were ok. We then spotted the window which had no handle to lock it, so this was just left open. Toilet seat didn’t fit the toilet. Bathroom is a wet room and the floor was filthy. There looked to be faeces on the bathroom light switch. And now for the best part, on the base valence of the bed, there was a nice stain which leaves nothing to the imagination as to what it is (photos attached). We picked our bags up and got a refund as we left. DO NOT stay at this hotel. It’s vile.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
7  Thank Victoria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

I'd like to start about the good things for the hotel. The staff were really helpful and friendly. The dining room has great views of the sea and the choice for breakfast was very good. The hotel has a pool and sauna which when we were there was quiet. I had booked two double rooms - 212 was large but 301 was on the small side.

Parts of the hotel are in need of some refurbishment - new carpets and decorating.

However, it wasn't expensive so it was definitely value for money. I also know location is subjective but we enjoy staying on the Esplanade.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AJ20-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018

Stayed here before and wasn't sure if to return or not, but as we booked a family room this time (double room previously) we decided to give it another go. Check in was good, friendly and helpful. Got to the room (Room 310) and the windows had no curtains and the room generally dated and in poor condition, needs refurbishment! Tiles loose on bathroom wall, 1 light not working, not been cleaned very well as bits on the floor near the bed which a hoover would have picked up. We left the room to go swimming, the swimming pool was very cold and I believe had too much Chlorine in it because all 4 of us had stinging eyes. We went back to the room and the door wouldn’t unlock, went down to reception and the lady tried her keys but the lock wouldn’t turn. We told her the windows had no curtains and she said they should have been put back up, but that was the end of the conversation. So we had no curtains all night, lucky we were on the 3rd floor and it was winter, dark at night and in the morning. We went back down to reception and waited while they called someone out to sort the lock. About 20 minutes later a nice man arrived, got us into the room changed the lock for a new one. By this time, it was nearly 8pm and we had two young children still to feed. The breakfast in the morning was good, good selection of hot food, cereals & fruits. Taking into account our previous visit and this recent visit, I would not return to this hotel
The room cost us £114, which is not great valve considering the condition of the room and the issues with had with the door and no curtains, we should have asked for a part refund.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews