We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
68
59
35
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
59
35
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family deluxe room two double beds lady on reception blackout blinds economy room lots of cupboard space parking permit room was clean minute walk to the town check in was quick and efficient quiet hotel tv reception clean staff would stay here again nice stay scratch card shower door
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2018

Stayed one night - Sunday 21st October on the Family deluxe room. Paid £50 so for the price, location, cleanliness and overall experience- well worth staying. 5 mins walk from beach. We ordered a chinese banquet takeaway from Kamsang which was excellent. The room had a dining room table so bonus! No fridge or cutlery so be mindful.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank MichelleHawthorne77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Marine Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Dear MichelleHawthorne77,

It was an absolute pleasure to have accommodated you during your visit to Scarborough.

We cannot wait to welcome you back, be sure to contact us directly next time for the best room rates.

Thank you for choosing Marine Residence.

Best wishes,

The Marine Residence Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

Although we had an "economy" room (we didn't pay much for it), we had one of the 3 front bay windowed rooms on the 2nd floor so the room was very large and airy with a nice view on to small gardens across the road. We were welcomed by the friendly staff and bought a parking permit for just outside the hotel.
The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom very clean; only downside was the lack of hot water to the sink (which may have been because of the distance to the tank, I didn't let it run long). Shower was hot!
The hotel is ideally located and just a short walk in to the upper or lower town & the marine drive. Overall a very pleasant stay at a very low price

Room tip: Room 207 was perfect. Book close to time of travel and you'll get a good deal
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Marine Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Dear David M,

Many thanks for your great review!

It's always great to read when a guest has enjoyed their stay, especially after all of our efforts into ensuring guest satisfaction. Our staff are trained to the highest standard and pride themselves in leaving a great impression, so great Your kind words about our staff will be passed on, and it was an absolute pleasure to have welcomed you!

We cannot wait to welcome you back again soon.

Best wishes,

The Marine Residence Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

We booked a basic economy room which was actually a nice size, the bathroom was just very tiny but fine for its purpose. I would however recommend maybe a hook on the back of the door to hang your towel while showering. Sink was in the bedroom, and the room had a small tv. Bed was comfy enough and there was a kettle and coffee etc. Friendly welcome when we checked in and nice touch of a personal note in the room welcoming our arrival. Nice big towels. Lift is very small - we had a young baby and the pram was too big to fit but that wasn’t an issue we would maybe just request a ground floor room if we were to stay again, which we would if we ever visit again. Parking very limited we arrived on a Saturday afternoon and had to drive around a couple of times as the car park nearby was closed but we managed to find a spot and paid to park on the road.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank pinksoda7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Marine Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Dear pinksoda7,

Thank you for your review,

It truly was a pleasure to accommodate you during your trip to Scarborough.

We have taken on board some of your comments, as guest satisfaction means the world to use, and we will use it to great effect.

Your kind words abut our staff will be passed on, and we hope to see you again!

Thank you for choosing Marine Residence,

Best wishes,

The Marine Residence Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in a deluxe family room. Check in was fast and we were given a parking disk. Receptionist showed us to our room (G03) which was a fab size for the four of us. Yes the downstairs wallpaper in the hallway needs finishing and our room in places could have done with a bit of a paint but we weren’t there to admire the decor. Only downside of the hotel that we could find was that the room loses a lot of heat from the old sash windows so maybe a couple of extra blankets in the room and an upgrade of the cups & saucers to some mugs would be great!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank katekev2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Marine Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Dear katekev2018,

Many thanks for your review! I'm glad our accommodation was able to impress you, as guest satisfaction is our number one priority.

Your feedback is important to us, and we will use it to great effect!

Our doors will always be wide open to welcome you again when you are next in our area!

Best wishes,

The Marine Residence Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

We were expecting average, however this was disappointing.. glad we didn’t pay full price. On arrival reception looked quite nice, checking in was easy and parking disc provided.. room 301 is basic.. in the true sense of the word.. there was a damp fusty smell that lingered, no wardrobe just a basic rack for clothes, and a glass side table, no surfaces to put anything on.. room had a single glazed window, but not noisy. Sink was in the bedroom.. no where to put toothbrush. Fan provided as requested. Plug sockets so low to the floor you can’t use them, however they were USB sockets which proved useful. Bedding was clean and bed was ok, slept pretty well. The bathroom was terrible.. a shower with dark tiles and a black curtain which meant that you couldn’t see what you were doing.. window screwed shut and no extractor fan, obvious this is where the damp smell was coming from.. poorly painted and peeling walls. Toilet was so close to the wall in front that even I, at 5’2 struggled to use, toilet seat moved when you sat down, impossible to fill the kettle from the tiny sink so had to buy bottled water. Could be so much nicer with a little thought and effort. Floorboard are uneven and in places felt dangerous. The upper floor stairs are dirty around the banisters. Doesn’t look like it’s been cleaned in weeks.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at Marine Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear Andrea H

Many thanks for your detailed review.

It is a shame that we were unable to see you leave completely satisfied, as our recent reviews will show, we take guest satisfaction very seriously. We would have loved to have been notified of all the issues during your stay and shown you just how effective we can be in making sure our guests are happy.

We will, of course, take your comments on board and use them to great effect for further improvement, however, we'd like to assure you our housekeepers are highly trained and always deliver a great service so we are surprised to see any comments regarding our upstairs. The feedback regarding this room has generally been very positive as a lot of effort goes into them, however, your comments are still just as important.

We do hope you will give us another opportunity if only to see what a great impact your feedback has had.

Best wishes,

The Marine Residence team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews