We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Derwent House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Derwent House Hotel
Ranked #41 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Had a very lovely weekend away here. Very clean and lovely owners.Will definitely be visiting again soon.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank frankie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    43
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
64
109
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

I stayed at the Derwent House Hotel January 2012, and had a fantastic new years break. The owners were lovely and went out of their way to accommodate my needs. I am looking forward to returning next month and would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I have never been treated and spoken to in my life how these people treat there customers it was horrible it spoilt my new years break all I asked for was a heater cos the room was cold got heater 12 hours later along with her drunken husband shouting insults at me in end had to leave was scared of him it's just been a horrible experience I have my own company I would never treat my customers this way I would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladytracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughJimmy, Owner at Derwent House Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
As the owner of Derwent House i would like to say that I have never been spoken to by a guest in such a disgusting and derogatary manner. When these guests arrived they were obviously heavily under the influence of alcohol but as it was New years eve, having a drink is expected.
Within an hour of the guests arriving I had, had numerous complaints from other residents about the noise from their room. I myself went up and asked them to keep the noise down and this seemed to calm the situation.
The following morning the gentleman from the party came and requested some extra coffee, I obliged and he claimed to myself and another passing guest how rough he was , in his own words "I'm absolutely hammered". The guests came for breakfast and nothing else was said.It was never mentioned that they would like another heater and had it been I would of happily provided them with one.
At 6pm on the second night I had more guests complain about the noise from the room and the strong smell of cigarette smoke. I went to ask the guests to leave the hotel as we a totally NON SMOKING establishment and this contravenes our policies. The gentleman in question told me they were not leaving and started to hurl abuse at myself, warning me that he had been in the "paras" for 3 years to be carefull! I said that i was going to call the police and they started to pack their bags.
They refused to pay the second nights payment and had taken numerous items from our honesy bar with out paying. My partner (who had definately not been drinking) came upstairs to calm the situation but was also subjected to a barrage of abuse from both guests.
Even as these guests left they were shouting appaling profanitys at myself and my parter and our 4 young children. No person should have to be subjected to behaviour like this.
Obviously both guests had been drinking heavily that day and were not coherant enough to understand that their behaviour was totally unacceptable.
We are very sorry that this may have upset other guests stay and apologise to them for any disturbance they may have encountered through no fault of our own.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

I had just bought a car locally and to save a 12 hour round trip, myself, my wife and best friends decided on a short road trip. It was last minute overnight stay, so we book based on price and I have to say, I was uncertain of what to expect. I couldn’t have been more happy. Very friendly, very clean, great rooms and great Breakfast.

Great idea with the Honesty Bar with nice louge. Only thing if I really tried to knock, would be the "Strength" of the shower. Maybe an upgrade could be installed :-)

But 99%, just how all B & B's Should be, you will not be disappointed. Not that I will be passing for a while, but I would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
27 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel 27.11.11 with my wife last night ,arrived late as expected ,was greeted with a warm welcome ,our room was functional but in need of up dating.
Nothing great to write home about ,bed was uncomfortable ,and electric shower either boiling hot or freezing cold ,breakfast was full English ,but lacked taste, a lot more could be done to improve peoples stay here .

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room on booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyfisher79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 km away
Miricia
Miricia
#38 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.2 km away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#31 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.1 km away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#7 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#9 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.6 km away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.6 km away
The Paragon
The Paragon
#72 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Hotel

Property: Derwent House Hotel
Address: Queens Parade | Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,749 - ₹ 5,039
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derwent House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Derwent House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing