We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beiderbecke's Hotel
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Longridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Return Visit”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Just returned from a repeat visit to this hotel, (Friday till Tuesday 26th march) stayed in room 218, which is a lovely room, No worn carpets in this room, yes another wacky loo seat, must be a theme, lovely big bed.
I agree there are bits of the hotel that could do with a lick of paint, hopefully the owners will do these jobs. It would be lovely if the whole hotel was like Marmalades.
On a positive note I would say All the staff are really friendly and will go out of their way to help guests if at all possible, the Food is first class, freshly prepared and cooked fresh.
I will go back to this hotel the next time we go for a few days to Scarborough, it is positioned just across from the town centre shops and also just a short walk to the beach. I would consider it value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAROL I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    140
    50
    21
    17
See reviews for
61
236
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We booked this break after reading the reviews of the hotel, on arrival at the hotel the small reception area was dark and shabby..not a good first impression. We went up to our room, 327 avoid at all costs. The carpets leading upto our room were worn, the room was in the loft, a very depressing and again shabby room. We were moved to 110, a better room, yet flaking paint on the bath panel and vanity unit, the net curtain was torn and dirty, the roller blind was mouldy as was the window frame, and the walls in the room were marked. This is not the description for a Boutique Hotel.
The food and restaurant area though were good and the staff excellent. The hotel just needs to be decoratated and the fixtures and fittings made good. More attention to detail!

Room Tip: If there are any 1st floor and at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryandChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I have been meaning to write this review since last August!! but just have'nt got around to it. We have stopped at many hotels in Scarbrough but this in my opinion is one of the best, & have stayed quite a few times now. My wife & i were in Scarbrough celebrating our wedding aniversary in August 2011 & as usual we found the hotel clean, staff very helpful & the new (ish) restaurant (the old cocktail bar) very nice indeed. On this visit we stayed in a suite & a very spacious room & bathroom it was too, well worth the little extra money. We had such good service from Kerry sorting out the room for us that we bought her a small thankyou (owners/managers give her a wage rise) 5 STARS, many thanks.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammy141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I booked for 1 night as a stopover for a family funeral and parked on street (£3 permit though could have gone down early in the morning to use pay and display machine) as small car park was already full. Check in was freindly & easy. Arrived in room 109 which was more than adequate for my needs. Before I continue I should point out that I had booked online and taken advantage of a £45 room rate reduced from the normal price of £85. That said, closer inspection of the room revealed worn carpets (as were the stairs leading up to the room) and discoloured /dirty bathroom flooring dust on ledges of doors lamshaes and edges of upholstered headboard, soap scum around the vanity unit counter, flaking paint on the bath panel (which was rotten at the shower end) and chipped and worn eslewhere, broken toilet seat (also weird jazz theme not in keeping with rest of decor), light bulb out, tv tube defective giving half picture in green, and welcome pack (cards) dog eared and creased laminated cards. That said, the room was quiet, the bed comfortable, a good standards of guest refreshments and requisites. In the morning my ordered paper had been forgotten, which I found out by asking where it was (oh, it was missed off the list....sorry bout that) Breakfast taken in Marmalades restaurant, freindly welcome but had to be asked twice what I wanted to drink because staff forgot what I'd ordered. Full english option cooked very well but had to be eaten in smoke infused environment as waitress had burnt the toast to a crisp. So in conclusion good value for money at price paid, but attention to detail and lack of professionalism costs very little and would make a tremendous difference.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2012

had two day stay at the hotel, staff were friendly and helpful, room (NO 104) was spacious with a king size bed, good when you are 6 feet 3 tall. the room was lovely and warm and clean. decor is older style but everything i needed was available to me.Good bathroom facilities although toilet seat not in keeping !!! great shower tho . breakfast was cooked fresh and fantastic choice and setting very nice .

Room Tip: room104 has double doors with balcony and king size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivan501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,795 reviews
0.1 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
576 reviews
0.2 km away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
613 reviews
0.2 km away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
1.4 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beiderbecke's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beiderbecke's Hotel

Property: Beiderbecke's Hotel
Address: 1-3 The Crescent, Scarborough YO11 2PW, England (Formerly The Regency Central Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#11 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,031
Hotel Class:3 star — Beiderbecke's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beiderbeckes Hotel is a small and friendly hotel in Scarborough Town centre, situated on a beautiful Regency Crescent, just 2 minutes walk from the train station and the famous Stephen Joseph Theatre. Why not come and stay in one of our beautiful suites with a balcony and sea views, or join us for some of our top quality, homemade Yorkshire food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beiderbeckes Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing