We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“pure luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“pure luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

fantastic hotel staff very friendly and helpful - could'nt do enough for you . our room very luxurious and the coloured lighting in the bathroom very relaxing while having a bath i would have been happy to stay in the hotel all day and not bother about seeing the sites of scarborough but the weather was very good while we were there so we did do the site seeing thing . we arrived on a motor bike and at reception while booking in the staff told us to move the bike right up to outside the door of the hotel - so we felt secure in the knowledge that as it was a 24 hour reception staff were always in that area . as i 've said very very good hotel and staff a bit expensive but when you are there you can see why would highly recommend

Room Tip: our room was at the back of the building no sea view but quiet and great and probably cheaper than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbikehols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
May I first of all thank you for your positive feedback and say that I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. As with all hotels the owners can spend millions of pounds on furnishings but the finishing touches are the quality of the staff and as is often mentioned on this forum as well as to myself.

I do hope that when you return to Scarborough you return to the Crown. It goes without saying that I will pass on your positive comments to the staff who I know will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,141
    1,411
    515
    174
    128
See reviews for
660
2,740
129
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

we had a two night stay in this hotel and.were lucky enough to be uograded. We had a lovely luxurious room with a Tv in the bathroom and a flat screen in the Bedroom. Everything was very clean and modern and of a high standard. I would definately come back again.It was in a good position with a 10 minute walk down to the promenade.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you for what is a short but very positive review, you have said enough to let me know that you are happy which makes myself and the team happy too.

I will certainly pass on your comment to our team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon as a tourist.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
163 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

This is a lovely hotel with excellent customer service and attention to detail. You pay extra for a sea view so I opted not to but for business I rarely get the opportunity to enjoy the views so this was OK. The room was spacious with a seating area and modern bathroom. Turn down service provided so chocolates on the pillow, curtains closed and refreshments tray replenished during the evening. Caffetiere in the rooms with nice coffee so a great incentive to get up early and enjoy a leisurely start to the day.

Spa, swim, gym facilities are great and while there I enjoyed a yoga class- plenty of exercise classes to suit all needs- a real bonus. Pool is a little on the small and odd shape size so it may be an issue during busy periods if you want a serious swim.

The staff were great with a Northern unpretentious charm. Very professional, welcoming and helpful from reception, breakfast and evening meal.

Great location- close enought to the sea front and town. If you are lucky enough to get a sea view I imagine the views are marvellous.

Food was great- breakfast plentiful and evening meal- plenty of choice but without comprimising on quality. This hotel has a very popular bar/ restaurant, but even when busy the service was efficient.

A great hotel- the one criticism would be the drain smell in the bathroom. To be honest, when a hotel and service is this good, a minor issue such as this becomes less of an issue. I would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: Out of season you may be able to get a sea view at a decent rate- its probablhy worth it if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helensuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
May I first of all thank you for your positive feedback and say that I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Sometimes we are so busy that we forget how nice the Crown really is and reading you review has reminded me what a wonderful hotel we have the pleasure of running.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed the extra touches like the chocolates and that the service and food were both to your requirements.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Me and my partner stayed at the crown for the 4th time since Dec 2010 and this time was for my partners birthday but instead of the usual 1 night we stayed for 2 nights, and once again we just loved the hotel and spa facilities (the only gripe I have about the swimming pool is that it's advertised at being kept at a constant 28 degrees celsius, but it always feels much colder than that, perhaps something to be looked into?) either way though a quick jump from the pool to the sauna soon rectifies that :)

But I really can't stress again how great the Crown Hotel is (the log fire in the lounge is a superb feature) and me and my partner loved it once again, we weren't too keen on the room we'd booked but a quick mention to reception and they had no problems with letting us change rooms to one of the rooms we generally go for on the Penthouse floor, brilliant rooms with a safe and a fridge! And superb views out the windows (go for a superior penthouse room though as they're quite a bit bigger than the standard penthouse rooms) you won't regret it!

One thing my partner and me ordered from the drinks menu this time were milkshakes! Something not many people (if any) ask for, and it was quite amusing to us and the barstaff that they only had 1 person who knew how to make them and they joked on the 2nd day we stayed there (after going back for a 2nd milkshake!) that "would we be back tomorrow for more milkshakes!" as if to say nooooo more please! Which made me question should we be in a 4* hotel ordering milkshakes! I swear we looked out of place sat in the lounge drinking them.. But they did taste great, so my tip for people visiting the crown is order a milkshake.. Just drink it when no ones looking haha.

Anyway to top it off I can highly recommend the Crown and it's very difficult to imagine staying anywhere else now!

Highly recommended! And excellent spa facilities even if the pool was a bit too cold for our liking.

I've included pictures from our last stay 12th-14th of April and also some pictures of the Penthouse room from a previous visit in August 2011 as I know a lot of people like to look at the pictures :)

Room Tip: Superior Penthouse rooms are always a safe bet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConanI81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
May I first of all say how nice it is to receive such an honest and detailed review of a customer’s stay, I am a little confused as to the barman appearing to be the only one able to prepare a milk shake, however we have had a few new members of staff who are currently in training and we don’t sell a lot of milkshakes this time of year. I must say that three star four star or five I am a great believer in having what you want so have one on the patio in full view of everyone on your next visit after all milk is good for you.


We will be looking forward to your fifth visit as we are always happy to see returning guests.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We attended a lovey ball on Saturday 21st April at the Crown Spa Hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful. In the bar we were served as soon as we walked into the reception room. Then when we went into the actual room it was beautifully decorated and the food was gorgeous. We were very spoilt and a fab time was had by all and lots of money raised....... We didn't stay over as we live in Scarborough so sorry can't comment on the rooms.

Room Tip: Sorry didn't stay over as live in Scarborough
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thanks you for such a positive review. We like to believe that all our customers whether visiting for a function, a spa day or on a weekend break all get treat in the same friendly way. I do hope that the Crown is the chosen venue for many more events.

I will pass your positive comments on to both the staff and management who I know will be delighted
Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.8 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
5.0 km away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.5 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,237 reviews
0.4 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Property: The Crown Spa Hotel
Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,420 - ₹ 12,925
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing