We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with some 5* tendencies!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with some 5* tendencies!!!”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We visited Scarborough for the first time at for the Easter weekend, and stayed in this lovely hotel. We did stay in a feature room which had a most wonderful view of the sea and also a balcony, so I could not say what the standard rooms were like. The room was relatively large, and had a small but functional bathroom with a lovely rain shower from the ceiling, which was quite a good idea, seeing that it was in the bath and therefore did not get the floor wet, when having a shower!! The breakfast (had breakfast as part of package), was impressive for a continental breakfast - have had worse choice in some 5*establishments! Also of a small supplement you could upgrade to a Full English Breakfast. But the best thing about this hotel was the spa area in the basement of the hotel. It was fantastic - had a swimming pool, steam room, saunas etc etc. I was vey impressed with the facilities of this hotel - it definitely was was worth staying there! The staff are very helpful - however one minor criticism was that the receptionist, when checking in, appeared to have a set speech which she felt she had to say as quickly as possible - which was very difficult to follow. It was lovely to see a hotel which clearly employed local people as well!!! Thank you for a lovely stay! We would definitely stay the again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intrepid-Explorer87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thanks you for such a positive review. The feature rooms on the first floor with full length windows and balconies are wonderful and views when the weather is good is amazing.

I am sorry that the receptionists greeting seemed a little scripted but there is so much information regarding the hotel that we want our clients benefit fully from their stay, we have actually reduced it now with the welcome letter so that guests can read at their own leisure.

I will pass your positive comments on to both the staff and management who I know will be delighted. As always we will be looking forward to you visiting the Crown again in the future as we are always happy to see returning guests.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,403
    1,557
    559
    189
    136
See reviews for
727
3,069
144
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (783)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was our fifth stay here and once again it didn't disappoint. Check in was quick and easy, a free parking permit was issued and we parked just up the road from the hotel. Our room was a superior double on the top floor with a side view overlooking the town centre. The furnishings are very good and modern and the bed large and comfortable. I love the TV at the end of the bath! There was a free safe which was easy to set up with our own code and a fridge. Tea, coffee and biscuits were also provided. The only minor problem was that the room was so hot even though the radiator wasn't on, we couldn't make out where the heat was coming from, hence we kept the window open whilst we were in the room , not much to grumble about though. The breakfast was continental or you could pay £5ish to upgrade to a full english. The choice was very good as was the service. We spent a couple of hours in the pool and the spa, it wasn't too crowded and we could spread out in the steam rooms/saunas with no problem. All in all a very enjoyable stay once again. Will be back again soon I hope.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are really good although a little more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randjyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thanks for a great review and can I say how we are never happier than when a guest returns time after time and still manages to find time to write such a wonderful review.

As always we will be looking forward to you visiting the Crown again in the future as we are always happy to see returning guests.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Our friends had told us of their fantastic short breaks that they enjoyed at this hotel. Our previous visit to the Crown was merely for a drink at the bar but even the friendliness of the place was shown then. Our weekend stay totally came up to expectations and if possible was even better. All facilities were excellent. We are already looking forward to our next visit. Thanks go to all responsible.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
May I first of all say thank you for your positive review. I am delighted that the hotel and service met with your requirements. It is always great to hear that someone has come to the Crown on a recommendation and that a wonderful time has been had

I will certainly pass on your positive comments to our team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This is the second time we have visited the Crown Spa, last years visit was excellent, but this year the staff topped that.

Our party consisted of 11 people aged from 19 to 83 years old. We stayed for 3 nights and during this time the Octagenarians celebrated their Pearl anniversary.

The staff decorated a private room for the occasion, served champagne and the meal with professionalism (they really made it a 4 star experience) and humour ( which put everyone at ease and really added to the night) Have a look at the photo of the room below it was brilliant.

It could not have been nicer, I would recommend the staff, the food and the hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Scarborough, just for a break, or for a Celebration weekend, it is a very special place to stay and we will certainly return.

Rooms were lovely, lounge is pleasant and peaceful, spa is brilliant, food is excellent and staff are second to none. With a very special mention to Jonathan and David ! Thankyou for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsBertina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
May I first of all say congratulations on 30 years of marriage and say how delighted I am that you chose the Crown as the place you wanted to celebrate

I am delighted that everything was to your requirements and the staff managed to top your last visit. Both Jonathon and David do a wonderful job in the restaurant but I must say that David is the artistic one and he stayed in his own time to prepare the room so that it would fit his demanding requirements.

We do look forward to you visiting the Crown again as we are always happy to see returning guests. I will pass on your positive comments to both the staff and management.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed here for one night during the last Easter bank holiday weekend. Although our room was quite small (3rd floor) it was comfortable and quite modern. The beds were really comfortable and the robes were a nice touch. The bathroom had a waterfall shower which was excellent. We ordered room service on the night and it was fantastic. Breakfast was top quality - none of the canteen style queuing! There was a large choice for continental style breakfast which you could help yourself too then a waiter took your order of you wanted hot food too.

Every member of staff we spoke to was friendly without being over the top. Because we hadn't booked before-hand and only found the hotel by chance, we didn't realise there was a spa! We were told we had free use of the facilities but we didn't have the time or swimming gear to enjoy it! We will definitely be back - well worth paying a little extra!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
May I first of all thank you for your positive feedback and say that I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Sometimes we are so busy that we forget how nice the Crown really is and reading you review has reminded me what a wonderful hotel we have the pleasure of running.

I will certainly pass on your comment to our team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon and don’t forget your swimwear so that you can relax and enjoy the Spa facilities.

Kind regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.8 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
862 reviews
5.0 km away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,857 reviews
0.5 km away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
621 reviews
0.5 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,377 reviews
0.4 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Property: The Crown Spa Hotel
Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,378 - ₹ 16,701
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing