We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotless through out a must stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catania Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catania Hotel
Ranked #95 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spotless through out a must stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed at the hotel from 8 june -11th it was spotless clean throughout we were met by jean who showed us to our room, The room was spotless clean and a good size .Breakfast was excellent .you didnt have to ask or look for anything as everything you need was there,lovely view and good walk to the harbour .would have no hesitation of staying there again and would recomend to family and friends thanks Agnes Tom (scotland)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agnes w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    19
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
32
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed here at the May Bank Holiday weekend. Were able to use the free car park even after checking out which was a nice touch! Our family room had a separate room for our toddler and baby. We were provided with free use of a high chair and could have used a travel cot if we hadn't taken our own. The breakfast was of a good standard and there was plenty of it. The view from our rooms was breathtaking with both the sea and the castle. We were made to feel very welcome and would go back!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SJS196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Just returned from 2 night stay at the Catania. Very clean throughout. Nice room with comfortable bed. Warm and friendly welcome. Nothing too much trouble. Excellent english breakfast. Would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Have just spent one night here with family. The room was a good size, very clean throughout the whole place. Breakfast was very nice , not a lot of choices though compared to some we have stayed in. Overall for a short break in scarborough its good and has lots of free parking.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alymoo197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Lack of bed lining!!!! Only blankets. Makes it really difficult to get through night. We never experienced anything like that in other places. Someone entered room despite leaving sign '' Do not disturb''.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dzierzoniow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 km away
The Kenton
The Kenton
#116 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 km away
The Meltham Guesthouse
The Meltham Guesthouse
#54 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.5 km away
Sylvern House
Sylvern House
#52 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#9 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.6 km away
Norlands Hotel
Norlands Hotel
#109 of 184 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.5 km away
Rockside Hotel
Rockside Hotel
#20 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catania Hotel

Property: Catania Hotel
Address: 141 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,843 - ₹ 8,050
Hotel Class:4 star — Catania Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catania is a sea front guest house, offering bed and breakfast accommodation on Scarborough's North Bay. We provide 4 star accommodation, including family rooms, in an elegant Victorian residence, built in 1880 and overlooking North Yorkshire's beautiful east coast and Scarborough castle. Ideally situated for all attractions including award winning Blue Flag beach, Peasholm Park, brand new Water Park, indoor swimming pool, Scarborough Cricket Ground, Sea Life Centre and only a 5 minute walk from newly refurbished open air theatre. We are within easy walking distance of the town centre, Scarborough harbour and South Bay attractions. Our friendly, family-run hotel has everything you may need to make your stay enjoyable... All rooms are en-suite, with central heating, digital TV, hospitality tray, clock radio alarm and hair dryer. Enjoy a full English or continental breakfast in our delightful Dining Room and plan your day with a little help from our wide choice of brochures and books. We aim to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible and we have a good selection of books, games and beach toys. Don't have to worry about parking as we have a large car park. We are rated 5 on Scarborough Council's Scores on Doors scheme for hygiene. Due to the design of the building we do have a lot of steps - around 12 from the car park to reception then the bedrooms are on three floors - sorry we do not have a lift but can take your bags to your room if required. All televisions have sub-titles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Catania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing