We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Mountview

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Mountview
Ranked #61 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed here August bank holiday, it was a last minute weekend away with the children 10 and 6 before they returned to school, we were not disappointed, the family room was excellent very clean and the beds were very comfy. Breakfast was very very good, you could basically choose what you wanted, we had a full english breakfast one day, beans on toast another, nothing seemed to much trouble for the lovely couple that run it. Its in close proximity to the spa and other amenities. We go to Scarborough, Whitby most years and will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    19
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
65
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2012

A warm welcome greeted us from the proprietors which set off our short stay in a relaxed manner. Once arrived there was no need for us to use the car and we enjoyed exploring the town and coastline. A hearty breakfast set us up each day. Our room was clean and very comfortable. We will certainly be recommending this hotel to all our family and friends and hope to return too.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Found this hotel on the internet, spent the weekend Christmas shopping in Scarborough. Very close to everything. Bedroom very comfy and clean. Breakfast was exceptional, full english was well presented, hot and freshly cooked. The owners were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Couldnt fault a thing. Will be coming back soon! :) ma

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmelissa256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2011

we spent a lovely weekend here , graham and michele really looked after us ,the breakfast was outstanding we could hardly move afterwards. great accomadation ,near to the spa and a short walk into town. would recommend this and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanessa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2011

this b n b is excellent its just round the corner from the beach the staff graham and michelle were AMAZING !!!!!!!!!! the food was EXCELLENT graham made some cds i really recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: if i was you i would book room 6 this room is on the top floor therefore it is the quietest room, al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 km away
Rivelyn Hotel
Rivelyn Hotel
#21 of 28 in Scarborough
273 reviews
0.2 km away
The Waves
The Waves
#18 of 183 in Scarborough
79 reviews
1.7 km away
Miricia
Miricia
#38 of 183 in Scarborough
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 183 in Scarborough
266 reviews
2.6 km away
The Lysander
The Lysander
#46 of 183 in Scarborough
157 reviews
0.1 km away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#14 of 183 in Scarborough
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mountview? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountview

Property: The Mountview
Address: 32 West Street | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,329 - ₹ 6,526
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mountview 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graham and Michele invite you to stay at The Mountview where a warm welcome is always on hand to greet you. We pride ourselves on giving everyone at The Mountview a comfortable and enjoyable stay. A private, family run establishment with a strict non-smoking policy, which was formerly given a four star rating from VisitBritain but has now been awarded a Certificate of Quality Assurance by the Yorkshire Coast Tourism Association. Enjoy a comfortable relaxing breakfast in our lovely sunny Victorian dining room. For breakfast, choose from our table of cereals and juices, followed by a full English Breakfast, poached or scrambled eggs or continental breakfast.We have seven comfortable en-suite rooms plus one bedroom with its own private bathroom. All the rooms are tastefully decorated and equipped with colour television, tea and coffee making facilities, alarm clock and hair dryers. Two rooms are on the ground floor and have their own front door! One a spacious suite, accommodating up to four people and ideal for families. Discounts for OAP’s. Additional charges will apply for peak periods, single occupancy in a double room and one night stays. The Mountview’s excellent location means it is only two or three minutes walk from the Esplanade, where you will enjoy one of the finest views on the east coast - stretching from the picturesque harbour, across to the sea-swept cliffs reaching south toward Filey Brigg. Take the cliff lift down to the Spa, or walk along one of the many paths leading through the Italian & Rose Gardens. Or maybe stroll along the cliff top to town and enjoy the mix of specialist shops and high street names, which offer a wide choice for shopping or browsing. The Mountview is easily accessible from the town's rail & coach station, and a regular bus service can drop you nearly outside the door. The Mountview enjoys ample free on-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Mountview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing