We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
134
24
11
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
134
24
11
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeasholm parkfull englishbooked a superior roomwithin walking distancesmall roomnice quiet locationminute walk to the beachhotel is spotlessbacon and sausagebed and breakfastlittle touchesvery comfortable staybiscuitsthe open air theatrea lovely place to stayvisiting scarboroughsea front
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2014

We stayed overnight on the spur of the moment and booked through Booking.com The location is superb, right next to the lovely Peasholme Park and a short walk for a nice bus ride along the North And South front into town. Superbly decorated to a modern but relaxing homely feel and immaculately clean. Breakfast was out of this world, with lots of choice and generous portions - top value at just £5 each. The oversall customer/guest experience was second to none. Very polite. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chippenhamged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great to return to my favourite hotel in Scarborough again in order to watch Yorkshire CCC.
Some 15 minutes from the ground and a walk through or around Peasholm Park, the Lysander Hotel is ideally situated for visiting the home of Scarborough CC to watch County cricket.
I must admit I am somewhat reluctant to do this review as most ardent cricket fans will keep to themselves the knowledge of a consistently good hotel on the circuit, for fear of being unable to get booked up themselves, once the annual fixtures are announced around November time!
What I do so like about the hotel is the quality of consistency that is there whenever we return on a yearly basis-great service, brilliant breakfasts, immaculately clean accommodation and a warm and friendly staff superbly led by Andy and Julie. You just know what good value you are getting as soon as you walk back into the Lysander, they certainly do what they say, care very much for the guests throughout their stay.
Highly recommend anyone staying at this hotel, it is a hidden gem amongst the many hotels and guest houses that are available in the North Yorkshire town of Scarborough.

Room Tip: Book well in advance!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boroeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We booked late and were allocated a top floor room which was very clean and tidy but it was so small that we had difficulty moving around.The shower had low water pressure and it was not very good at all. The hosts were very friendly and all the staff were very pleasant and went out of their way to help us. The lounge area was OK but nothing special.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with space and certainly not room 14.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gavin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Nice quiet location within walking distance of the beach, takes approximately 15/20 minutes to walk into the town although there are buses that run frequently. The hotel itself is very clean, our room was a smaller double but still plenty of room, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were all very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

(one night stay) A pristine establishment, the room was of highest standard, towels were out of this world, bed very good, curtains fantastic, breakfast good choice, help full staff, location a little out the way, ok if you like walking and are fit, for me the only thing missing was a little character , just make sure you close the curtain when getting changed, there,s other apartment straight over the road .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews