We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend away”
Review of The Lysander

The Lysander
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lysander
Ranked #56 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2014

I went here with my boyfriend and best friend and her boyfriend for a spur of the moment weekend away.We had an early booking in (you request this and late check out ) we arriived about 1,30 and were shown to our rooms .These were lovely both different our room had a large bath and my friends room had a shower .We walked into scarborough which took about 20 minutes (we didn't walk fast ) and had a lovely time .played bingo and shopped,We went back to the hotel chilled abd then went back into town (we booked a taxi with nippy taxi they were anything but !!!!!!! we had booked for 7,20 and after 3 phone calls they arrived at 7,45 don't use !!!!!) we went to a pub called the blue lounge where there was a guitarist he was Fantastic we made the mistake of leaving and going to witherspoons we all said blue lounge best place,we went for a chienese to ko sung lovely ..Next morning breakfast was amazing the choice was astounding any thing you want and the staff were friendly and nothing was to much trouble and plenty of toast .We all thought the weekend was fabulous and we would recommend THE LYSANDER to everyoen

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2014

We stayed overnight on the spur of the moment and booked through Booking.com The location is superb, right next to the lovely Peasholme Park and a short walk for a nice bus ride along the North And South front into town. Superbly decorated to a modern but relaxing homely feel and immaculately clean. Breakfast was out of this world, with lots of choice and generous portions - top value at just £5 each. The oversall customer/guest experience was second to none. Very polite. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chippenhamged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great to return to my favourite hotel in Scarborough again in order to watch Yorkshire CCC.
Some 15 minutes from the ground and a walk through or around Peasholm Park, the Lysander Hotel is ideally situated for visiting the home of Scarborough CC to watch County cricket.
I must admit I am somewhat reluctant to do this review as most ardent cricket fans will keep to themselves the knowledge of a consistently good hotel on the circuit, for fear of being unable to get booked up themselves, once the annual fixtures are announced around November time!
What I do so like about the hotel is the quality of consistency that is there whenever we return on a yearly basis-great service, brilliant breakfasts, immaculately clean accommodation and a warm and friendly staff superbly led by Andy and Julie. You just know what good value you are getting as soon as you walk back into the Lysander, they certainly do what they say, care very much for the guests throughout their stay.
Highly recommend anyone staying at this hotel, it is a hidden gem amongst the many hotels and guest houses that are available in the North Yorkshire town of Scarborough.

Room Tip: Book well in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boroeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We booked late and were allocated a top floor room which was very clean and tidy but it was so small that we had difficulty moving around.The shower had low water pressure and it was not very good at all. The hosts were very friendly and all the staff were very pleasant and went out of their way to help us. The lounge area was OK but nothing special.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with space and certainly not room 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gavin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Nice quiet location within walking distance of the beach, takes approximately 15/20 minutes to walk into the town although there are buses that run frequently. The hotel itself is very clean, our room was a smaller double but still plenty of room, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were all very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.8 km away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 26 in Scarborough
363 reviews
0.2 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
934 reviews
1.4 km away
Miricia
Miricia
#38 of 183 in Scarborough
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#26 of 183 in Scarborough
317 reviews
1.2 km away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#16 of 183 in Scarborough
499 reviews
2.2 km away
Green Gables Hotel
Green Gables Hotel
#114 of 183 in Scarborough
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lysander? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lysander

Address: 22 Weydale Avenue, Scarborough YO12 6AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lysander 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lysander is your ideal retreat from the stresses of everyday life and you are guaranteed a warm welcome by your hosts Jo and Jackie. Now you’ve time by yourselves, do exactly as you please. Linger over a romantic meal at one of Scarborough’s quality restaurants, and return to the hotel for a restful nights sleep. Start the new day with a freshly cooked English or continental breakfast and take pleasure from the freedom you only find on holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The Lysander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing