We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and very good value B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St Michael's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Had an excellent nights stay here at the weekend. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with all the facilities. We particularly liked the artwork in the room. The breakfast was one of the best we have ever had. Lots of fruit and cereals and the cooked breakfast was huge. It's a good job we were only staying one night! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKW192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

882 - 886 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

We chose St Michael's based on the reviews on this site, and were not disappointed - we received a really warm welcome from Jan and Ed even though we arrived after 9pm, and were made to feel like good friends straight away. Our room (and the whole place) was lovely, and spotless as well. There were lots of choices when it came to breakfast, and the full english was very impressive - and so were the people who actually managed to finish it all! We found St Michael's to be in a great location - about 20-30mins walk from the beach, and with lots of restaurants to choose from in our immediate surroundings too. We would definitely stay again - Ed and Jan are genuine, friendly people who go above and beyond to make sure their guests have the best stay possible. We would recommend St Michael's to anyone - perfect for families, couples and solo travellers alike.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I chose St Michael's hotel for my two night stay, based upon cost, location, and reviews given by others on this website.

From the moment I arrived I was made to feel welcome by the hosts, Jan and Ed.
I did not expect the complimentary drink and slice of cake which I received upon my arrival, nor the genuinely warm and friendly reception I received from them throughout my stay.

The hotel and en-suite room in which I stayed were clean, comfortable, and furnished to a very high standard with excellent facilities.

There was a large and varied choice of top quality breakfast options.

What struck me most about this hotel was the attention to detail - flowers on the breakfast table, pictures on the walls, local information brochures in the hallway, the hosts remembering the names of their guests, treating each as a valued customer, and tailoring breakfast to suit their individual desires.

I had a thoroughly enjoyable experience staying here.
Many thanks Jan and Ed !

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Having been recommended by a family member, we decided to stay at St.Michaels whilst we were in Scarborough.
We found the rooms to be absolutely spotless and everything in there that you could possibly need( including a chocolate treat every day!!)
Ed & Jann were excellent hosts and we were made to feel very welcome.
The breakfast was very good with plenty to choose from.It kept us going all day.
Well done Ed and Jan and thanks for a lovely stay, and look forward to seeing you again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morrisey_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in the family room with our 2 boys. From the moment we walked through the door we were all made very welcome, Ed and Jan couldn't do enough for us.
The breakfast was amazing, we had lots to choose from. The full English was the best I've had in a long time.
The B&B is spotless I have nothing negative to say....I would recommend it to anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.4 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
0.1 km away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
797 reviews
0.0 km away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#6 of 184 in Scarborough
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#5 of 184 in Scarborough
418 reviews
0.2 km away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 184 in Scarborough
301 reviews
0.1 km away
The Beaches
The Beaches
#7 of 184 in Scarborough
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: ₹ 4,951 - ₹ 5,667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Michael's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional seaside guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing